We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel but with dated bedrooms”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel but with dated bedrooms”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stunning old building with original wood panelling in most of the public rooms. Fantastic view of the bay and beautiful gardens. However, the function room which has ben an extension to the original building needs a make over. The bedrooms are very dated and our wall paper was stained, our bed was too hard and the room was quite small. Was excessive to charge one hundred and thirty pounds for a bedroom which was at such a poor standard.

However, we enjoyed our stay and the staff were attentive.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank katscumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    133
    47
    37
    15
See reviews for
123
212
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lot France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband arranged a stay at the Netherwood for Valentines Day. We were given a very warm welcome and directed to our room which was beautiful, well equipped and warm. We had stunning views over the bay. The evening meal was introduced with canapes and wine in the cosy lounge and continued in the beautiful dining room where a pianist played throughout the meal. The menu was thoughtful and detailed and staff made the evening a very special experience.
A hearty breakfast was followed by a stroll around this stunning hotel. Even the dreadful weather couldn't dampen our spirits. A truly memorable occasion.
The hotel has a disabled access and a conveniently placed lift. They cater for vegetarians.We didn't get to use the Spa this time.
I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretLotFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at one of the best hotels in the North West of England. The Netherwood exudes a uniquely English feel and it is impossible not to feel instantly relaxed as soon as you enter through its solid, traditional wooden doors.
One feels straightaway the difference between a hotel that has been run by one family for many years and any number of monolithic modern hotels belonging to some international company that takes little or no interest in the individual guest.
The owner, Mike Fallowfield, who is always at hand, makes you feel special and individual, and his extremely well trained staff have the knag of making the guest feel relaxed and wanting to settle in to any one of the comfortable armchairs and sofas that you find in all the main public rooms, e.g. lounge, bar, entrance hall and even a wonderful library room.
We had breakfast every morning and a four course meal every evening, and the standard of the food was uniformly high and the dishes frequently original.
And, finally, whether a gale is blowing up the Bay of Morecambe, or whether it's fine, dry weather, the views from the hotel out across the Bay are simply stunning. Where can one find nowadays a hotel that combines all of these assets and natural benefits?!
So it isn't at all surprising that such a well run hotel as the Netherwood attracts individuals and couples and groups from all generations, young, middle aged and retired professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

On arrival we struggled a little as the entry to the hotel is by quite a flight of steps and we are elderly. Very quickly a porter came to help.The wood panelling and original stained glass windows are beautiful and the lounges are cosy and comfy with log fires, very cheerful, attentive staff and ample chairs, tables, papers and magazines. The food was excellent and beautifully presented.
The bedroom was dated (with blankets not duvets) but everything was spotlessly clean and functioned well.
Very good value for a happy, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Sunday lunch for 30 people, celebrating an 80th birthday. Some of use stayed over as well. All excellent - food, accommodation and - especially - service. Attentive, discreet and effective throughout. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodder64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went for one night just after my partner proposed to me.
Absolutley fantastic! Could not have been any better. Mike was there to meet us and made us feel welcome. Excellent food! Rooms very comfortable. Very happy! Saving now for the wedding venue to be held there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heversham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We have just returned home after having a wonderful Christmas lunch.
The table , room decorations plus family named place settings and the views of the sunset from the dining room just made it special
I was feeling a bit low (as my family werent with us today) but the welcome we received made me feel so much better.
By the way, the food was wonderful.Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bionicgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Property: Netherwood
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing