We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel & conference capabilities”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Awesome views from hotel from seating outside!. Staff that cannot do enough to help you. Visible owners who are keen to ensure all your requirements are met.great food, easy parking- everything I needed on the day. As beautiful on the inside as outside, huge original stone fire places, leather chesterfield sand plush seating everywhere you looked. The Netherwood is grand and fresh- the Old Girl is as inviting as it was many many years ago when it was built. What a Grand Manor!!!! Can't wait to stay here with my wife!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JYARWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed here for a getaway break really looking forward to it as the grounds and scenery looked lovely and it was lovely the best part ;)
We entered out room wow stains all over the carpet the paint on the radiator all peeled off looked awful black stains all above the radiator under the window. Stains and marks all over the walls. We had requested a bath but got a shower :/. The bed was defiantly not a double Evan my girlfriend who is only small legs were hanging of the bed. The bed was hard and very very uncomfortable both did not sleep well at all and had very sore backs the next day. There was loud noises below us way past 12 o clock that loud you could here the actual conversations there was constant bangs and door slamming through the night (possibly other guests).
The tv signal was bad so we gave up on that. There is not much nearby so you have no choice but to pay there extortionate prices. It was very boring unpleasant and not homely at all not sure if it was because we were a young couple but Evan so.
The key system was silly every time u left the premises you had to hand the key in not dealt with this system before didn't help you had to wait ages to hand it in and ages to get back not many staff at all.
Check out was charged an extra £20 for drinks from the bar when we clearly didn't purchase them an when I stated this I was replied with 'oh I thought so I thought I'd check' smiling .... Used the spa well the small pool, hot tub and steam room the changing rooms were unclean and disappointed no treatments were available as there was no one to do them don't advertise this on your website then. Complete let down. Awful couldn't wait to leave!!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just joined tripadvisor so had to review the Netherwood as it is one of our favourite places. It is just such a lovely hotel with warmth and character. From the moment we walk in we feel at home as it is so welcoming. The big comfy sofas, the gorgeous wood-panelled lounge, the roaring fire - who could resist?
And that's before I mention the delicious food served in a dining room with an amazing view over the bay. Both the evening meals and the breakfasts are great.
Service is excellent throughout the hotel, including the kitchen staff who accommodate tweaks to the menu for our children (10 and 7).
The hotel is traditional in style so don't come expecting a cold, minimalist venue. This has character and warmth about it. We've stayed in many rooms and have always felt very comfortable as have family members who've stayed when we've had special occasions. Our children love coming here and we never feel on edge with them like in some places.
My mum and dad had a golden wedding family meal here in July 2013 and the staff set it up really nicely in the library despite there being a wedding on the same day. They've obviously got the experience to handle a wide range of events.
Keep up the good work to everyone at the Netherwood. I'm sure we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justanothergir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Superb, really comfortable (traditional standards of surroundings) and very obliging staff.
The food was exceptionally good, in terms of choice, presentation and service. Appreciate it being served piping hot.

Room Tip: If available, get a room overlooking the front garden and Morecambe Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Netherwood. This was our second stay the first being a few years ago. We found our stay to be very relaxing and the staff very helpful we would especially like to thank a member of the housekeeping staff who helped us with our room move as the first room was a bit noisy. The food was delicious but if there are any functions on you have to wait longer. We like this hotel as it family run and has more of the personal touch. We would definitely stay again if the price was right.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pennywise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stunning old building with original wood panelling in most of the public rooms. Fantastic view of the bay and beautiful gardens. However, the function room which has ben an extension to the original building needs a make over. The bedrooms are very dated and our wall paper was stained, our bed was too hard and the room was quite small. Was excessive to charge one hundred and thirty pounds for a bedroom which was at such a poor standard.

However, we enjoyed our stay and the staff were attentive.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank katscumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband arranged a stay at the Netherwood for Valentines Day. We were given a very warm welcome and directed to our room which was beautiful, well equipped and warm. We had stunning views over the bay. The evening meal was introduced with canapes and wine in the cosy lounge and continued in the beautiful dining room where a pianist played throughout the meal. The menu was thoughtful and detailed and staff made the evening a very special experience.
A hearty breakfast was followed by a stroll around this stunning hotel. Even the dreadful weather couldn't dampen our spirits. A truly memorable occasion.
The hotel has a disabled access and a conveniently placed lift. They cater for vegetarians.We didn't get to use the Spa this time.
I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretLotFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,028 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,356 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
8.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £82 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing