We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding wonder”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Thanks, Mike, and all your staff, for hosting a fantastic wedding for our daughter and new son-in-law! We were looked after from start to finish, the service was personal, and nothing was too much trouble. The ceremony and wedding breakfast room looked beautiful and the food was delicious and well- presented. All our wishes were accommodated.

This might not be the hotel for you if you are looking for super-luxurious bedrooms with ultramodern fitments. However, if you like traditionally beautiful surroundings, wood panelling, fabulous fireplaces, home cooked cookies with your milky coffee, and staff who genuinely care, it probably will be! Out of all the venues that could have been chosen for the wedding - I'm so glad it was Netherwood.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Just experienced one of the best 3 course dinners ever... Spent the evening in the library room at a function for our friends joking birthday, lovely surroundings beautiful views over Morecambe bay, on a clear crisp night can see Blackpool in distance.

Food selection was varied, all though a'la carte portion sizing the meal was Devine. Shame we felt like we were encroaching on the several weddings going on.
Drinks are expensive but what you expect in a hotel. Didn't need heating on it was very stuffy

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MrsH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

my wife and I have just returned from 4 nights at Netherwood (23rd -March) the whole ambience of the hotel is of peace and tranquillity, along with not a little style. The food was the best I,ve ever eaten in a three star hotel, the staff were nothing short of excellent. My wife thought she had lost here expensive watch on one of our days out, only for it to have been handed in at the hotel by a member of the very honest staff.The cleanliness of the hotel is 2nd to none. The only negative comment I have is of our room, I had paid extra for a bay view double room only to find it was nothing more than a large single. my wife and I had trouble moving about at the same time as each other. Also the décor of room we had (No. 7) was very shabby. Apart from the tatty rooms I cant understand why the hotel has not got a four star rating. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I can only comment on room 7 as it was the room we stayed in. it definitely not big enough for two p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_b186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I together with a couple of friends stayed at the Netherwood for three nights in late March, 2014, on one of their offers. The location of the hotel is magnificent with stunning views across the Kent estury, we had upgraded and our bedroom enabled us to take advantage of the views. The hotel has a lovely ambiance and we soon settled in to admire the magnificent decor, the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the food was "out of this world" and all in all it was a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireDavid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I were here with a wine-tasting group for a weekend, and then stayed an additional night when 4 family members arrived to join us for the 70th birthday of one of us. On arrival, we thought our bedroom was going to be a little noisy from the proximity of an exterior fan duct beside the window. The receptionist and staff helped us to re-locate to a room in the Turret in no time at all. This (self-catering) accommodation proved to be so delightful, we were soon joined by our son and his partner occupying the second bedroom. The gardens are well-kept and colourful even at this time of the year. We chose a quiet time to enjoy the spa, could'nt fault the menus and meals,and offer our thanks to the smiling, attentive staff who made our wine event and our family group so comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a local group for a wine tasting weekend so need to remember to comment on hotel only - though 'events' do seem to be a major earner for them. There were two other group events on the Saturday we were there. This did limit access to one or two of the lounges but not a major issue.
The public areas are lovely, very grand with lots of leather furniture, big settees, wood panelling and log fires. However all this did make it seem quite dark in places.
The setting is lovely and lots of rooms have views over Morecambe Bay which is pretty spectacular. Our room,30, looked out the back but was spacious and the furnishings very clean though the decor was a little tired and shabby in places. Good fluffy towels in the bathroom and a plentiful supply of very hot water. The bed was firm which was to our liking though some in our party less happy with this. Our room also very quiet at night and at the opposite end of the hotel to one of the function rooms but above the other. Luck of the draw as to what's going on where I suspect.
Breakfast was very good with the hot food cooked to order. Dinner was more hit and miss, for us much better on the second evening. I understand that the afternoon tea, taken by some of our group, is pretty good. The service was very good all around the hotel.
We had hoped to use the pool on our arrival but we were advised it was very busy (seems to be open to the public with classes etc) and to try later. But by then we were getting ready for the evening. A shame if the public use pushes out residents.
Overall my impression is of a friendly hotel working hard to keep up standards and appearances and succeeding in some areas if not others.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Shame really.

There was nothing particularly bad about the lunch but it just didn't inspire. Shame really.

Some bits of the service were slap happy - chilled dry sherry requested, warm sweet sherry received.

Some bits of the service were fun - lots of chat with the waitress. And when I made a point of asking for extra butterscotch sauce with the sticky toffee pudding I got a soup bowl full !!.

Fabulous view from the restaurant over the bay.

Just a shame that the food was a bit pedestrian.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,034 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,359 reviews
8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £88 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing