We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

3 nights for joint celebration - parents had been before (on a group dinner outing) and very impressed. However, there were so many niggles for an expensive hotel, which was a shame as beautiful hotel in a lovely location. Two events going on at the same time as our arrival. Evening meal that night a disaster because of this (hotel should have closed restaurant to residents) - ordered tomato soup, was served vegetable (without a word), lamb far too salty, cheese straight out of the fridge and virtually non-existent on the plate, along with soft biscuits. Bedrooms at back (31 and 32 particularly) very dark and depressing with kitchen noises (some kind of extractor etc) stopping late at night and starting early in morning. Barman didn't know what drinks he was serving (or did, and was too lazy to go out and get a new bottle from the back!) Changing rooms for pool dirty. Breakfast was good, but black pudding cremated every morning and third morning we were bumped out of the dining room for yet another event onto a tiny table that was on different levels and didn't have enough room on it for everything. Bedrooms were shabby with small things that could have been easily rectified (broken hooks, peeling bath, no pedal on the bin. However, cleaners were excellent and very friendly and the hotel was very picturesque. Hotel manager please note: we realise your bread and butter comes from big events, but don't forget your paying customers too!!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the front - you get the views and not the noise from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0use64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    133
    47
    37
    15
See reviews for
124
212
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our two night break at the Netherwood was pleasant enough however we did leave disappointed. We booked a couple of months in advance, to celebrate my partners 40th birthday and were happy with the rate of £175 per night for us both, dinner, bed and breakfast. Everything was perfectly adequate and we did enjoy our time at the hotel however, we left feeling disappointed. While we were there an offer was running for dinner, bed and breakfast for £130 per night, plus an additional night free. Although we did not want the third night, we did ask if we were eligible for the offer but were told by the manager and owner, who called us at home after we had left that we could not be included in the offer, as others were as we had booked too early. Lesson to be learnt - book last minute to get the best deal !

Room Tip: We were in room 8 which had a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Thanks, Mike, and all your staff, for hosting a fantastic wedding for our daughter and new son-in-law! We were looked after from start to finish, the service was personal, and nothing was too much trouble. The ceremony and wedding breakfast room looked beautiful and the food was delicious and well- presented. All our wishes were accommodated.

This might not be the hotel for you if you are looking for super-luxurious bedrooms with ultramodern fitments. However, if you like traditionally beautiful surroundings, wood panelling, fabulous fireplaces, home cooked cookies with your milky coffee, and staff who genuinely care, it probably will be! Out of all the venues that could have been chosen for the wedding - I'm so glad it was Netherwood.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Just experienced one of the best 3 course dinners ever... Spent the evening in the library room at a function for our friends joking birthday, lovely surroundings beautiful views over Morecambe bay, on a clear crisp night can see Blackpool in distance.

Food selection was varied, all though a'la carte portion sizing the meal was Devine. Shame we felt like we were encroaching on the several weddings going on.
Drinks are expensive but what you expect in a hotel. Didn't need heating on it was very stuffy

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

my wife and I have just returned from 4 nights at Netherwood (23rd -March) the whole ambience of the hotel is of peace and tranquillity, along with not a little style. The food was the best I,ve ever eaten in a three star hotel, the staff were nothing short of excellent. My wife thought she had lost here expensive watch on one of our days out, only for it to have been handed in at the hotel by a member of the very honest staff.The cleanliness of the hotel is 2nd to none. The only negative comment I have is of our room, I had paid extra for a bay view double room only to find it was nothing more than a large single. my wife and I had trouble moving about at the same time as each other. Also the décor of room we had (No. 7) was very shabby. Apart from the tatty rooms I cant understand why the hotel has not got a four star rating. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I can only comment on room 7 as it was the room we stayed in. it definitely not big enough for two p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_b186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I together with a couple of friends stayed at the Netherwood for three nights in late March, 2014, on one of their offers. The location of the hotel is magnificent with stunning views across the Kent estury, we had upgraded and our bedroom enabled us to take advantage of the views. The hotel has a lovely ambiance and we soon settled in to admire the magnificent decor, the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the food was "out of this world" and all in all it was a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDavid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Bees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I were here with a wine-tasting group for a weekend, and then stayed an additional night when 4 family members arrived to join us for the 70th birthday of one of us. On arrival, we thought our bedroom was going to be a little noisy from the proximity of an exterior fan duct beside the window. The receptionist and staff helped us to re-locate to a room in the Turret in no time at all. This (self-catering) accommodation proved to be so delightful, we were soon joined by our son and his partner occupying the second bedroom. The gardens are well-kept and colourful even at this time of the year. We chose a quiet time to enjoy the spa, could'nt fault the menus and meals,and offer our thanks to the smiling, attentive staff who made our wine event and our family group so comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
973 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
388 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
8.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Property: Netherwood
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing