We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding anniversary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We came to the hotel for a meal to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. Staff were very welcoming the moment we arrived. We had a lovely meal in the dining room with excellent food and service was very good. Would definitely go back in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    128
    46
    36
    15
See reviews for
120
204
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just come back from an amazing night at this hotel, the view, the food, the service and the breakfast were all amazing. We enjoyed it so much we are going back in six weeks time to do it all again

Room Tip: upgrade to a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A party of us attended a lunch for well over 100 people. We ordered on the day. The food was good (especially the assiette of deserts. The service was quick and efficient and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.Just little attention to detail like keeping us well supplied with water and hot water with the tea and coffee were appreciated. We plan to go back to try the afternoon tea,it looked delious.

Room Tip: We only had lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Staying for one night over Easter weekend. Beautiful setting, have a room overlooking gardens with a view of Morecombe Bay. Staff can't be more helpful. 5 star service. Feel thoroughly pampered. Food excellent, can recommend home made burger with red onion marmalade and sticky toffee pudding. Only fault is wi fi access is slow and doesn't work in bedroom but have a very comfy public area in the reception and bar where you can relax. Looking forward to breakfast and would certainly stay here again !

Room Tip: request a room looking over the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SARACEN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

3 nights for joint celebration - parents had been before (on a group dinner outing) and very impressed. However, there were so many niggles for an expensive hotel, which was a shame as beautiful hotel in a lovely location. Two events going on at the same time as our arrival. Evening meal that night a disaster because of this (hotel should have closed restaurant to residents) - ordered tomato soup, was served vegetable (without a word), lamb far too salty, cheese straight out of the fridge and virtually non-existent on the plate, along with soft biscuits. Bedrooms at back (31 and 32 particularly) very dark and depressing with kitchen noises (some kind of extractor etc) stopping late at night and starting early in morning. Barman didn't know what drinks he was serving (or did, and was too lazy to go out and get a new bottle from the back!) Changing rooms for pool dirty. Breakfast was good, but black pudding cremated every morning and third morning we were bumped out of the dining room for yet another event onto a tiny table that was on different levels and didn't have enough room on it for everything. Bedrooms were shabby with small things that could have been easily rectified (broken hooks, peeling bath, no pedal on the bin. However, cleaners were excellent and very friendly and the hotel was very picturesque. Hotel manager please note: we realise your bread and butter comes from big events, but don't forget your paying customers too!!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the front - you get the views and not the noise from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0use64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our two night break at the Netherwood was pleasant enough however we did leave disappointed. We booked a couple of months in advance, to celebrate my partners 40th birthday and were happy with the rate of £175 per night for us both, dinner, bed and breakfast. Everything was perfectly adequate and we did enjoy our time at the hotel however, we left feeling disappointed. While we were there an offer was running for dinner, bed and breakfast for £130 per night, plus an additional night free. Although we did not want the third night, we did ask if we were eligible for the offer but were told by the manager and owner, who called us at home after we had left that we could not be included in the offer, as others were as we had booked too early. Lesson to be learnt - book last minute to get the best deal !

Room Tip: We were in room 8 which had a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Thanks, Mike, and all your staff, for hosting a fantastic wedding for our daughter and new son-in-law! We were looked after from start to finish, the service was personal, and nothing was too much trouble. The ceremony and wedding breakfast room looked beautiful and the food was delicious and well- presented. All our wishes were accommodated.

This might not be the hotel for you if you are looking for super-luxurious bedrooms with ultramodern fitments. However, if you like traditionally beautiful surroundings, wood panelling, fabulous fireplaces, home cooked cookies with your milky coffee, and staff who genuinely care, it probably will be! Out of all the venues that could have been chosen for the wedding - I'm so glad it was Netherwood.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hammies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Property: Netherwood
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing