We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the disabled friendly hotels ive ever visited”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Visited for lunch recently, withmy father, who is wheelchair bound. Another member of our party had called ahead to check for accessibility and was told it was all fine. When we arrived, we had to ask three different mebers of staff to find out where the disabled loos were - nobody seemed to know the answer and we were actually told two different things, which meant going up and down to one of the building and back. My dad eventually had to use a horribly cramp and very wheelchair Unfriendly cubicle in the ladies toilets. I understand that older buildings cant always have great facilities for the disabled, but the staff made us feel like a nusiance for asking, and my poor dad was hugely embarassed by the whole situation. Terribly handled by all three members of staff that we spoke too.

Lunch afterwards was nice, and the grounds were very pretty - but wouldnt rush back because of the people working there!
x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tilda841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

From private functions to bar snacks the Netherwood never disappoints. The manager is always friendly and helpful and eager to ensure that everything has been to your satisfaction. The staff are always cheerful and sensitive to the needs of all the customers, ( many elderly customers are regulars here) and the hotel obviously has a good chef. The atmosphere is one of old Victorian style and the building and it's features are amazing in a beautiful setting. We have seen many weddings there and the photographs must be impressive. For those who prefer less atmosphere, with lighter curtains they should perhaps try a local cafe or a Travelodge!!! We will always have the Netherwood as our choice for a tasty lunch or dinner in the future.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms would always be preferable as the views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a dinner bed and breakfast stay. Very professional staff. Very grand surroundings. Huge room with fantastic views. Very nice dinner and breakfast. Clean and enjoyable pool and sauna. Will return!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from relaxing and enjoyable weekend at the Netherwood for family get together. Hotel looks impressive as you approach - service and food matched expectations.

Our room was large and we'd requested a cot bed which was in room as expected. Rooms were spotless with decent shower.

We ate in the main restaurant on the Friday - food was tasty and staff were very attentive. Thank you Georgina and Dennis!

Breakfast was very tasty on both days and was cooked to order - a rare treat in hotels these days!

There was a wedding on the Friday and Saturday, this didn't distract from the service received and the hotel was large enough absorb this without impacting on our party. In fact - upon check in and breakfast both days all the staff knew which guest was with which party.

We had a couple of after dinner drinks in the Library on the Friday evening, and we ended up specifically booking the Library for the Saturday as we had 3 small children which allowed some privacy to us and peace to the rest of the guests!
We had the Library all day and this also came with the services of Darren who looked after our party with much patience..!
Food on the Saturday was good and plentiful!

All in all it was a good break. I can't speak highly enough of all the staff - thank you too to the Hotel manager who double checked a number of times everything was as required.








Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Al_McK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for family lunch. We had use of the library for 10 of us. Very dark and claustrophobic. There was a wedding on the same day so the toilets right next door were out of use so we had to use the other at the other end of the hotel. The lunch menu was poor, very limited (4 options per course) . perhaps we got the wedding menu too! The food was quite cold by the time we got it. The melon was really juicy and tasty but Hubby's soup was bland and nondescript. My chicken was tough and the asparagus had sat under a hot plate too long. Hubby's vegetarian option of goats cheese flan was lovely. They messed up one of our party's meals and have him a goats cheese tart instead of a tomato flan. When the flan turned up, it looked exactly like the goats cheese tart with tomato on the top instead of cheese. It wasn't eaten.

Sweets were premade, the eton mess was cream with 3 blackcurrants, 2 tiny bits of chewy something ( I'm hoping meringue!) And not much else. Hubby had creme brulee, which he said I made better ones and I rarely make it.That's quite a low bar.

We had our own dedicated server throughout the time, which was really nice. He was very attentive for us.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank sunshineskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautiful place in lovely grounds..staff are welcoming,helpful and a big part of what makes this a lovely stay.
Room could benefit from redecoration but views are fabulous.
WiFi and phone signal very poor but found that helped with relaxing!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My friend and I stopped at the Netherwood for dinner bed and breakfast in July. It was for my birthday and we were very well looked after particularly by Michael. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was excellent both the evening meal and breakfast. Unfortunately the weather took a turn for the worse on the second day so we had to head up home a little bit earlier than expected but a lovely and wonderful experience thank you to you all for a wonderful experience. I would recommend paying the extra for a bay view room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shaunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,028 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
500 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,356 reviews
8.0 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £82 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing