We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip down memory lane for my mother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A trip down memory lane for my mother”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My parents used to visit this hotel in the past, so I thought it would be a treat for my mother to return for another visit. We brought the dog,( who enjoyed her walks in the lovely grounds, and also enjoyed all the fuss from guests and staff).
The hotel has a step back in time grandeur, we had large rooms, modern bathrooms, and fantastic views over Morcambe Bay.
The food was lovely -and plenty of it, which is served in a beautiful large diningroom. We were not packed in like sardines, there was masses of space.
The staff were brilliant- friendly and helpful. The dining room staff were exeptionally helpful with my disabled mother.
I will be booking again in the future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words and good to see your family are still coming to the Cumbria Grand.We are currently enhancing our menus and its great to see such positive reviews of the dining experience in our restaurant.Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    409
    179
    63
    55
See reviews for
136
460
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Grange is situated on the northern shore of Morecambe Bay and this can be seen from the Hotel and grounds but not from all rooms - mine had a view of the coach park! The room was comfortable and spacious and the hotel generally was excellent. Meals were good and the only complaint about the bar is the usual one - no real ale!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words and good to see your family are still coming to the Cumbria Grand.We are currently enhancing our menus and its great to see such positive reviews of the dining experience in our restaurant.Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel in a beautiful location and they let us have early check in at no extra cost. When arriving at the room we were very disappointed as we had upgraded to superior room but it looked very dated and the bed was tiny. View of sea and coast amazing. Went to use trouser press and it fell of the wall! TV was from the 90's. Surely all hotels should have flat screen wall mounted tv by now. Asked for iron and we're told you had to go to an ironing room! It was locked and it took them 1 hour to find key. Breakfast was great and the dining area beautiful. They just need to modernise and upgrade the rooms. Would not stay again as cost of room not worth the money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ebaybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your comments.We are currently on a rolling programme to replace all our televisions in the group of hotels with flat screen ones.The refurbishment of bedrooms is scheduled as are improvements to corridors and public areas.As you say the views of Morecambe Bay are what makes the Cumbria Grand.
Would like to see you return to us in the future to see the improvements on accommodation that we are making
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel was easily found, and a lovely building. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large with a large bathroom and king sized bed. It also had A BALCONY. We were happy. The bar and dining room are fabulous with high ceilings. One can imagine the wealthy people in fabulous clothes dining and dancing there in days gone by. We had the a la carte menu rather than the carvery. The food was reasonable, well served and excellent value for money. Wine and lager were cheaper than at my local.
After dinner we adjourned to the bar which quickly filled with lots of happy, friendly guests. There was a DJ, who happily accepted requests. A few people were dancing, but after I requested Love Shack by the B52s the whole room was jumping. We had a great evening.
Next morning it was a buffet breakfast. I was amazed that the scrambled eggs were fresh and fluffy, all food was hot and the bacon crisp. A very good breakfast, unusual for a buffet type.
All in all an excellent stay. This hotel is trying hard, and attracting a great mix of people.
If we are in the Lake District next year we will revisit the Cumbria Grand

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the estuary. We booked too late and had no view, but we did have a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for your recent review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.The hotel is such a historical building and all improvements we make still highlight the traditional architecture of the hotel.Our Full English Breakfast is often commented on by our guests and a hearty breakfast is how we like our guests to begin their day in the Lakes.Hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just returned from taking a group of 32 walkers for a four night stay. I must say that every ones expectations were exceeded. Everyone was happy with the room facilities, the food both at breakfast and for dinner was very good with a wide choice of menu. The staff were helpful and friendly, and everyone enjoyed the entertainment that was on offer. Being a group we also given facilities to provide our own amusement when we had group quizzes and slide shows. We have already arranged our next holiday for 2014 but we shall be back the next year. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course and estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunjyhalifaxengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for the review posted of your walking holiday.After speaking with your party and organisers it was satisfying to know that everyone had a great week and that you are coming back to us next year.The hotel has a thriving business with groups and tours a key part of our operation and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport Uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at the cumbria grand for a long weekend and really enjoyedmy time there.We had a room overlooking the golf course and estuary and were very pleased to have a good sized and clean bathroom.The staff were efficient and friendly,the food was ok and the stay was value for money.OK the hotel is old,the lifts slow,facilities limited,but that didn't stop us enjoying our stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
You review of the stay with us is much appreciated.Guest comfort and bedroom and bathroom facilities and cleanliness are of the utmost importance to us.Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Ambulant Disabled stayed here for 1 night and have to say hotel was actually better than expected, Elderly mother also enjoyed her stay at this hotel for both of us rooms allocated were excellent and comfortable.All staff that we had any dealings were very good and friendly only tried Breakfast and it was the best full english breakfast I have had in many a year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimpaler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words and that you were more than happy with your room allocation and that you enjoyed the breakfast so much.See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
14.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
17.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Grand Hotel

Property: Cumbria Grand Hotel
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 20 acres of private gardens, overlooking Morecambe Bay, the Cumbria Grand hotel boasts 124 en-suite rooms, a restaurant and bar/lounge. There are various sporting and leisure facilities including a tennis court and putting green. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The rooms feature TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser presses and hairdryers. Guests at the Cumbria Grand can enjoy a game of snooker in the games room and for those who prefer to be outdoors, a leisurely stroll across the private gardens could be the perfect way to unwind. The hotel’s restaurant offers a wide variety of fresh seasonal dishes made using local produce, such as freshly caught shrimps and an extensive list of fine wines and other beverages. The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and the town centre of Grange-over-Sands with its quaint shops and cafes. Lake Windermere is six miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
Cumbria Grand Grange Over Sands
Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing