We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel is beautiful and set in a gorgeous location. The staff are friendly and attentive, the rooms are big and well equipped, the grounds and woodland walk are well maintained and overall our break was enjoyed and relaxing, especially with a two year old who was made to feel welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and pleased that all of you had a good stay.Hopefully see you back at the Grand soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    409
    179
    63
    55
See reviews for
136
460
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I visited The Cumbria Grand on 14th-16th April with my Fiancé and our puppy as a present for my Fiancé's 30th birthday. The hotel was easy to find using our Sat-Nav and the area is quiet and very beautiful.

There is a woodland walk & nature reserve nearby. The hotel has a kids play area as well which looks brand new and well maintained.

The rooms were comfortable - we stayed in a twin room. They come with tea & coffee making facilities, tv, hair dryer, toiletries. We had a nice view of the woodland. The rooms are well equipped, we didn't spend much time in our room over our stay, it acted as a good base. They are a little dated but we felt this added 'character' with the building being old. It just wouldn't seem right to be in a modern room in such an old, elegant building. The bathrooms were modern and the shower is excellent & bath is a good size too.

Breakfast is amazing - a lovely choice of Full English, Contiental, cereals, jams, porridge etc. All the breakfast food is well cooked and good quality.

We had a bar lunch on our first night, we chose the paté to start and we both had cheeseburgers for our main. The starter was lovely and served with two crackers and salad. Mains were under the menu as snacks but the portions were a good size. We didn't eat in the hotel other than the bar meal and breakfast but the carvery smelled delicious and looked popular.

The bar on the first night was very quiet - no music and not many people in, we stayed for two drinks and headed to bed as we'd had a long day. Drinks are expensive; £3.80 for a pint of lager or £5.80 for a glass of wine if I remember rightly (I could be wrong).

The bar on the second night had music playing (at a respectable volume) and was really busy, we didn't like the hustle and bustle but that wasn't a problem as there were little side rooms connected to the bar to have a quieter drink. There was a singer doing a variety of songs after about 9pm.

The village and shops are a short walk away or a few minutes in the car. There were plenty of places near and far to take our dog on walks and the hotel had plenty of outdoor bins & dog bins so that we could clear up after our dog without the trouble of not having anywhere to put the bags.

The hotel seemed to be popular with older travellers and there were a few coach trips staying while we were there. The hotel was quite busy but the staff were able to see to our needs despite this and the hotel was clean.

Overall we didn't have any problems, enjoyed our stay and would consider a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Many thanks for posting a comprehensive review of your time with us
It is really satisfying to hear that the bedroom and food were so well appreciated.Our drink prices are competitive for a hotel and are in fact cheaper than many hotels in the area..
The drinks prices are slightly cheaper than you quote and the wine price is for a large 250ml glass.
Hope to see you again at the Grand soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A group of us on a coach holiday had an amazing stay at the Cumbria Grand Hotel, the staff were so friendly, the hotel was so clean even though they were décorating in certain areas it didn't cause any problems. The restaurant staff worked so hard and food was absolutely fantastic with such a large variety! I mustn't forget the bar staff as they were so understanding and friendly none of us could find any fault with anything, thank you all for making it a successful break. Well done to everyone! A holiday we shall not forget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for a great review of your recent visit from the South.We had so many positive comments from the group during the week and would like to welcome you all back here again for a similar break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and myself had a comfortable stay for my birthday.Very pleasant dining room staff,polite,smartly dressed and nothing was a bother.Our room was very comfortable with an outstanding view.Beautiful building of great grandeur and character.The lounge was very relaxing with beautiful furniture,views. and a well stocked bar,The food was good and the price for the 3 nights DBB was exceptional.Oh! and also a lovely Lake Windemere Cruise thrown in the package.Refurbishments going on at parts of hotel but didn`t disturb our stay.Well done on trying to better an outstanding old building.Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoragSauchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback.So pleased you enjoyed the stay and recognise as we do that the beautiful old building should be preserved as much as possible to keep the traditional feel, when we carry out any refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton upon Severn, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

stayed in a single room. no problems with me checking in early, lovely staff. Room was clean, and comfortable. There was the odd bit of chipped paint in the room but considering the age of the building it was really in overall good condition. I stayed in the side of the hotel opposite the woods and had a pair of owls to listen too late evening which i thought was rather cute!! However i am quite sure any extra money spent getting a sea view would be well worth it!!!! very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: sea view if your spending any amount of time in your room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uptonlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for the feedback.The owls have been commented on many a time by our guests.Bay views are indeed well worth paying a supplement for and these are in such high demand because the views especially first thing in the morning, are well worth coming here for alone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed on Saturday evening. Nothing is too much trouble for all the staff that work here. Excellent customer service from reception when checking in and checking out. Wine waitress was brilliant as where the restaurant staff. We had the carvery on the evening which was exceptional and great value for money. Breakfast was great and the lovely receptionist arranged for a breakfast sandwich to be made for my husband when he came in from work too late for breakfast . The hotel itself has loads of character and is spotlessly clean. Would recommend and will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank review37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you and we all work to the ethic that nothing is too much trouble to give our customers a great stay.Your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

First thing to say is this hotel is being refurbished but the work had no impact on our stay.
The staff are some of the best I have met in the UK hotel industry, nothing is too much trouble all very polite and they just seem to want to make your stay the best they can.
The rooms overlooking the bay and golf course are very spacious newly decorated and very clean.
They have a full size snooker table (free to use) in the basement.
Breakfast was very good plenty of choice and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Many thanks for your complimentary review and it is really satisfying when our guests post such positive comments, in particular about the team here who all work so hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable and comfortable
See you again when you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
14.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
17.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Grand Hotel

Property: Cumbria Grand Hotel
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 20 acres of private gardens, overlooking Morecambe Bay, the Cumbria Grand hotel boasts 124 en-suite rooms, a restaurant and bar/lounge. There are various sporting and leisure facilities including a tennis court and putting green. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The rooms feature TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser presses and hairdryers. Guests at the Cumbria Grand can enjoy a game of snooker in the games room and for those who prefer to be outdoors, a leisurely stroll across the private gardens could be the perfect way to unwind. The hotel’s restaurant offers a wide variety of fresh seasonal dishes made using local produce, such as freshly caught shrimps and an extensive list of fine wines and other beverages. The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and the town centre of Grange-over-Sands with its quaint shops and cafes. Lake Windermere is six miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumbria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
Cumbria Grand Grange Over Sands
Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing