We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here with my husbands parents for 3 nights. The room was gorgeous and the food was to an brilliant standard. If we were ever back down we would use this hotel again. The hotel does cater for older guests tho so perhaps not so suitable for younger families.

Room Tip: If you want rooms together ask at time of booking, our rooms were a number apart but at different si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    428
    190
    71
    56
See reviews for
147
489
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Sometimes I think reviews are given on the basis of the reviewer expecting to pay a 1 star price for a 5 star service and this is just unfair to the hotel. This hotel is rated 3 stars and I am reviewing it as such.

Arrival on our coach was efficient, being met by the restaurant manager on the coach who explained where everything was and who arranged for all of our bags to be taken to our rooms (This happened with other coach parties while we were there too) Issuing of keys took a matter of minutes as reception seemed very well prepared to deal with a rapid onslaught of a coach party.

I had a single room which did have a few 'shabby' bits but absolutely nothing worth complaining about. Most importantly the room was very clean and fresh, it was a reasonable size for a single room with all the facilities advertised including a trouser press. My TV reception was fine but some others did complain of issues, I think this may be connected with the ongoing updating and refurbishment as it did look as though some work was being done on the splitter boxes.

This hotel has lovely gardens and grounds, and weather permitting affords the opportunity to spend free time walking and enjoying the view.

We had a breakfast and evening meal deal and were given times for our sitting. Service in the restaurant was fast and the food was good quality, tasty, a good selection and served by friendly, helpful staff. Starters and desert are served at the table and the main course is a carvery. Breakfast includes a wide variety of cereal and a full English. Tea and coffee as well as toast are served at the table.

However I found the best part of this hotel were the staff. All those I came into contact with were helpful, polite and cheerful and responded quickly to any requests made. I particularly noted how the restaurant staff were prepared to help the less able guests carry their food from the carvery and give other assistance when required.

The bottom line for me is would I stay there again? and I definitely would.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at the Grand and very pleased with the standard of service and facilities - particularly for my disabled mother who loved the whole experience. The staff were fantastic and went to a lot of trouble to ensure her needs were met, her room had the best accessible shower we've come across and we got a fabulous suite with a wonderful view of the Bay, terrific value, thank you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jean-HE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Cumnock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been visiting this hotel for five years now and it meets our needs as a weekend base. The staff are very helpful, the meals in the hotel (dinner and breakfast) were very good and the views from the restaurant were exceptional.
We were visiting for the Cartmel races nearby and the hotel meets all of our needs for the trip to Grange over Sands. On this visit my wife and I had our best room to date, no.203, and we will be returning next May as usual with our friends.
There is a small putting green in the hotel grounds that could and should be better looked after but this is a minor complaint on my part.

Room Tip: The views from the rooms facing Morecambe Bay are quite special by overlooking the golf course and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Originally booked a twin room for me and a friend only to arrive to a single room. We was then told we could swap to a double room for no extra charge , to which we agreed to. Once we had changed room we went to pay for our double room which we assumed was still 134 between both of us. Only to then be informed that we had not infact changed rooms but instead just booked an extra room. This meaning we was then paying 134 each, double the amount we had budgeted for. At this point we explained that their had been a misunderstanding and we did not want an extra room but we was willing to share the double room even though we was both males. The hotel staff then said it wouldn't make a difference anyway and we would be charged the same regardless if we kept one room or used two as the charge is per person and not on a room each night basis. This was obviously a lie as we had other friends sharing who were only getting charged for their room and not per person. In the end we had no choice but to pay even though we knew we was getting ripped off as every other hotel in the area was booked up. Steer well clear

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grange-over-Sands hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

went for a friends birthday, so was in a group, we staid in one of there junior suites and it was lovely, clean with great views, all the staff were very nice and the food was great. so all in all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel tries very hard to provide a grand experience.It was in the process of being refurbisded and some corridors looked a mess.However, where work was completed it was very pleasant eg the room and the bar lounge.The dining room is a beautiful period piece;it's enormous and lavish( decor-wise).It has wide tall windows so that the light pours in and the views are sensational.The view from our window and the rater tatty balcony were superb.If you like Grange you'll love looking out across the green plains that lead down to the estuary.In fact if you were staying in a tent at this level(3rd floor) youd love it so a very pleasant rooms makes it out of the ordinary.
Only downer was the noisy male part of a couple who enjoyed shouting at his wife/ female friend? after an evening of booze in the room next door, although everybody else was friendly and polite.
Oh nearly forgot buffet breakfast of a good standard and in quantities for largest of appetites!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwhat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
14.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
12.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,119 reviews
8.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
10.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Grand Hotel

Property: Cumbria Grand Hotel
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 20 acres of private gardens, overlooking Morecambe Bay, the Cumbria Grand hotel boasts 124 en-suite rooms, a restaurant and bar/lounge. There are various sporting and leisure facilities including a tennis court and putting green. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The rooms feature TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser presses and hairdryers. Guests at the Cumbria Grand can enjoy a game of snooker in the games room and for those who prefer to be outdoors, a leisurely stroll across the private gardens could be the perfect way to unwind. The hotel’s restaurant offers a wide variety of fresh seasonal dishes made using local produce, such as freshly caught shrimps and an extensive list of fine wines and other beverages. The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and the town centre of Grange-over-Sands with its quaint shops and cafes. Lake Windermere is six miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cumbria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
Cumbria Grand Grange Over Sands
Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing