We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel for understanding people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value hotel for understanding people”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a hotel for realists only . If you are a perfectionist or a habitual whinger or the type of person who expects five star luxury for a two star price tag then don't book this hotel. Yes, there's a lot that needs doing- it is a huge building but it's obvious that renovations are taking place bit by bit. It cannot be back to its former glory overnight. I rather like the old fashioned feel though. The rooms are clean and comfortable and adequate for a few nights stay. The ceiling was badly cracked in our bathroom but so what ? All the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly, the atmosphere in the bar on Saturday night was good- helped by the eclectic choice of music played by the DJ. The restaurant is a fantastic room, it would look great set up with lots of fresh flowers for a wedding reception . The evening food (on the cheaper set menu) is ok . My steak pie was very tasty but tiny frozen Brussels sprouts in July? Do something else! The breakfast was better , plenty of choice. My only real criticism of the restaurant is I felt personally that there is a well intentioned but unwarranted attempt at excessive formality - we seemed to get into a confusion with wine and food waiters and the poor lad who was trying to lead us to our table ended up blocking our way there! It's NOT fine dining, just let the staff be nice and friendly and approachable.
Overall, we enjoyed our night at the Cumbria Grand and would like to come back again. The value for money is great . For us, the plus points vastly outweigh any negative points raised by people with unrealistic expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Many thanks for your honest and wise words on the hotel it is much appreciated.Strathmore Hotels are 3 star hotels, family owned and our aim is to provide comfortable, traditional accommodation with a strong emphasis on customer care.A huge amount of our business is returning and indeed regular guests who enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of our old buildings and grounds.Saying this, there should be no confusion in service areas and I apologise for this during your recent stay.So many improvements have been made in the last year and we will continue to do this both in the way of menus, refurbishments and service levels.The volume of guests on a daily basis the hotel has means that for efficiency and value for money our restaurant has a table d'hôte menu but also offers the option of a supplement menu.Our brochure breaks for multiple night stays on Dinner,Bed and. breakfast are so popular and are among the best value in the UK 3 star market.Really hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    423
    187
    68
    56
See reviews for
144
479
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for the weekend with my wife, beautiful setting.
The hotel was clean and nice staff, very helpful.
Our room was large with a bathroom, we have stayed in better but it was adequate.
There was a buffet breakfast with a good variety. Similarly the dinner was good, 3 courses .
The entertainment was excellent provided by Ian Lawrence.Very professional and covered all tastes. Overall a brillient weekend ,we will definitely be back again,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Our band weekends are such a popular part of our business and the Ian Lawrence Band are so well received as they cater for all tastes.We have many events in the pipeline for next year and hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It is a lovely old hotel, built for the arrival of the railway. Our overnight stay was very good. The rooms were clean and pleasant, we had a lovely view overlooking the golf course and Morecambe Bay.
The communal rooms were comfortable and the whole hotel and grounds were full of character.
It is a large building and refurbishment appears to be discreetly ongoing. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast had a good variety. Very good value for money, would stay again.
Ann M.

Room Tip: For views over the bay go for the rear of the hotel from the first floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback and heartening to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience from start to finish.Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was 1 of the best hotels we have been to. Having been to the Salutation in Perth many times we were not surprised to find this hotel of the same standard as it is in the Strathmore group. Lovely room with a veranda, wonderful food, great staff and super views over the golf course and Morecambe Bay. Well done General Manager Mark and all your staff. Many thanks for a super 70th.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bay have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Great review and delighted that after many years of being a regular at our sister hotel that you came to visit the Grand for our special occasion.
All Strathmore Hotels try to create the same atmosphere and quality of food and service.Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hotel was absolutely First Class,we rated everything 10 out of 10,Rooms,Staff,Dining,Cleanliness and the setting and grounds are splendid.We went with the idea of a relaxing break and couldn't have been made to feel more at home. we have already booked to go agin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Such a great review of your time with us and your opinion is much appreciated.It really makes everyone's efforts worthwhile and rewarding and it's what we strive to achieve.See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel was beautiful from the outside with well manicured grounds. Most of the communal areas were equally as grand and the dining room in particular was lovely. The staff were very helpful, particularly the receptionist who let me borrow her phone charger because I had forgotten mine!

The room itself was basic but clean. The en suite shower room looked to be new and was immaculately clean.

There was a good selection for breakfast. I did not personally like the evening meal buffet (although I do not generally like that style of English food). I was with a large group and the general feeling was that the evening meal was OK.

Overall I was very happy with my stay here: peaceful and serene.

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layla198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
The hotel is indeed beautiful from the outside and many of the areas inside are traditional and in keeping with the age of the building.All the team try to go above and beyond to help where possible and if we can solve a problem for a guest we will.
Look forward to seeing you again for another relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

As soon as we parked all I could see was the cobwebs, smashed lower windows and the windows that needed badly painted. The room was badly needing redecorated and there were lots of cobwebs in the room and especially round the inside window frames. There was even a crow stuck just above the wardrobe which kept me up. The food was adequate but I would say needed more variety. The table we sat at for dinner didn't have a view but I was not bothered about this, but I was bothered to see when we came down for breakfast that the table cloth hadn't even been changed and had stains on it. Also in this day and age I would have liked wifi and more sockets in the room. I work in a hotel myself and it certainly wasn't up to general standards - just pay a bit more and stay somewhere that isn't like the set of faulty towers!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza8614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Many thanks for such a detailed review of your visit to the Cumbria Grand.I am very sorry to hear that as soon as you arrived you felt the hotel was not up to standard.
This is in contrast to so many reviews including one today, where guests delight in the beautiful ground and our Victorian building.
Last summer nearly the whole exterior was painted, there are some more works to be done later in the year.The broken window pane has now been replaced.I am glad you found the food adequate, we do receive many comments relating to this.There is no excuse for the incident with the table linen for which I sincerely apologise and this has been passed to the restaurant manager. WiFi is available "free of charge" in the public area, but due to the extremely large, old building, 120 rooms and in some areas two feet thick stone supporting walls it is not a simple process installing WiFi that every room can get, however this is something the company is looking at as part of ongoing refurbishment.
As regards to the crow (above the wardrobe?), the building is in the middle of the countryside and woodland and many birds often decide to "perch" on our roof including our resident peacock.I apologise if this disturbed your sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grange-over-Sands hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
14.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
489 reviews
12.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
8.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Grand Hotel

Property: Cumbria Grand Hotel
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 20 acres of private gardens, overlooking Morecambe Bay, the Cumbria Grand hotel boasts 124 en-suite rooms, a restaurant and bar/lounge. There are various sporting and leisure facilities including a tennis court and putting green. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The rooms feature TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser presses and hairdryers. Guests at the Cumbria Grand can enjoy a game of snooker in the games room and for those who prefer to be outdoors, a leisurely stroll across the private gardens could be the perfect way to unwind. The hotel’s restaurant offers a wide variety of fresh seasonal dishes made using local produce, such as freshly caught shrimps and an extensive list of fine wines and other beverages. The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and the town centre of Grange-over-Sands with its quaint shops and cafes. Lake Windermere is six miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumbria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
Cumbria Grand Grange Over Sands
Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing