We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend, we found the hotel was very clean, our family room was spotless not a speck of dust, and the bathroom was gleaming, all the fixtures were again spotless. We only had breakfast so can't comment on the evening meals, breakfast was very good, hot and plentiful, waiters were very good also. The hotel is a little dated but as others have mentioned it is undergoing refurbishment. Was a pleasant stay and we would go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you for your kind words and pleased you had a good stay with us.Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    417
    183
    64
    56
See reviews for
138
470
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here recently with mg Grandmother. Although the decor was slightly old fashioned I could appreciate the older person loving it and had been the original reason I booked it. The building and grounds are quite special, I hope during the renovation work that the 1940s feel of the ground floor is not lost. The rooms were very clean, comfy bedding and great views of Morecombe Bay.
Very friendly staff.
Breakfast was ok, my only complaint as the bacon was very chewy and the toast was cold and there was not much of a continental breakfast selection.
Overall we loved our stay and felt the hotel location was perfect for exploring the rest of the Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
So pleased you love the old building and character as we and so many of our guests do.We try to consider all the focal and traditional points of the building when carrying out refurbishment work and it is nice when the building and grounds are commented on so favourably.
See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were here for five days. Our room was clean and very comfortable as was the bathroom. Meals were very good and always served on time.We could not fault the staff, our only concern was that the hotel does not cater for Diabetics but they did manage to make up something suitable for my wife on two of the days.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and glad you found your bedroom facilities comfortable its what we always hope to hear.The hotel is used to catering for all diets, allergies and preferences.For everything to be prepared and organised we do like to be informed at time of booking of any special diets so that all departments are informed of our guests needs.It is difficult when our menu changes daily to cater for all diets on the menu, we always have vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free dishes available but to make sure we comply fully when you visit us again if you let us know and everything will be in place to cater for your wifes requirements.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were with two other couples for a weekend to enjoy a meal at L'Enclune and Cartmel races and we were not disappointed.

We had a good room with narrow balcony and fantastic views of the golf course and beyond - the beds were comfy and the only gripe was the hand basin where the water took ages to drain away. Bit worrying on the 3rd Floor!

Hotel is dated but with some character and good grounds. A lot of refurbishment going on which never looks good and they need someone to do their gutters!! Went for a game of snooker but door was locked and the very damp/musty smell downstairs put us off asking for the key. It must be hard with the number of rooms to generate enough cash to reinvest on this place but I think the staff generally were trying hard.

Breakfasts were buffet style and typical with some attentive staff. Would happily return and was well placed for the wider area.

One word of warning re Cartmel Races - I'd get a taxi booked before you get to the hotel as the races tend to cause all the local taxis to be booked up.

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking the golf course give the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDPontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for the feedback and yes we are perfectly placed and usually the hotel is full for the races.
The maintenance team have sorted the had basin in the bedroom we would have looked at this immediately if informed during your stay.Investment has to be properly managed and scheduled yes, but we are constantly striving to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here with friends as a change from Ambleside and Windermere and were very pleasantly surprised how beautiful the coast is here.

The hotel is an easy walk from Grange but taxis are available if needed. Our room had a great view to the coast. Buffet breakfast was well cooked and plentiful and waiters very attentive. Bar and reception staff were efficient and cheerful. Parts of the hotel needed a bit of tlc but not a big issue for us as we enjoyed a few drinks on the well laid out gardens and terrace. Tennis court was a bonus.In short - great location and very good value. Wi fi in public areas

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1951ken2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Such nice comments, many thanks.
The tennis court was relaid recently and so pleased you got the weather to make use of it.
It is important to us to hear that standards are maintained and we receive so many good comments on the buffet breakfast and the restaurant and bar teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We wouldnt keep coming back if we didnt enjoy it. Its a good value hotel full of character with some great retained period features alright its not to everybody's taste and some may find it not 'modern' enough but its incredibly hard to update somewhere without ruining it 'feel' as I said we like it, but its your call.

Room Tip: Choose a 'Bay view room' or one of the suites if theres one availiable for stunning views ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank leyther8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Appreciate one of our regulars commenting on the hotel and we do have so many guests who return throughout the year and have done for many years.Our brochure breaks with dinner inclusive are excellent value and we hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for three nights with one of the packages of bed and breakfast and evening meals. This was good value for money. The hotel was very quiet as not many people were staying when we were there. Require a car to visit nearby attractions though. We paid extra for room with a view and looked over the golf course (well worth the extra money). Meals were spolit for choice and good portions. Hotel is slightly needing some updating but we read this on trip advisor before we went. Only fault would be better sign posting for entrance as sign only on one side of the road and you are past it too quickly. Staff were friendly and helpful all the time. Lift very slow to take you to your floors. Cleanliness was excellent

Room Tip: pay extra and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pryde164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWRidley, General Manager at Cumbria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Great to hear all the important aspects of the hotel were appreciated.The food and cleanliness being one of our main priorities.We aim for first time visitors to return as there is so much to visit and explore in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
14.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
8.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Grand Hotel

Property: Cumbria Grand Hotel
Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 20 acres of private gardens, overlooking Morecambe Bay, the Cumbria Grand hotel boasts 124 en-suite rooms, a restaurant and bar/lounge. There are various sporting and leisure facilities including a tennis court and putting green. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The rooms feature TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser presses and hairdryers. Guests at the Cumbria Grand can enjoy a game of snooker in the games room and for those who prefer to be outdoors, a leisurely stroll across the private gardens could be the perfect way to unwind. The hotel’s restaurant offers a wide variety of fresh seasonal dishes made using local produce, such as freshly caught shrimps and an extensive list of fine wines and other beverages. The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and the town centre of Grange-over-Sands with its quaint shops and cafes. Lake Windermere is six miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumbria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
Cumbria Grand Grange Over Sands
Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing