We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good, cosy little bistro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Home Cafe and Bistro

At Home Cafe and Bistro
Cuisines: Cafe, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
South Bucks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good, cosy little bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

In March, this little bistro is only open on Friday and Saturday evenings and, in the dark, is quite easy to miss! But having found it, it's well worthwhile - particularly as there are very few other options for reasonable evening meals in Grange at that time of year.

The bistro is in the basement and has a cosy "in the cellars" ambience. Service is friendly and efficient. The food is good quality, although I was a little less enthusiastic about my salmon than my wife and son were about their lamb. There was nothing actually wrong with it - just a bit uninteresting. Desserts were good too. Prices for both food and wine are quite reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tortoise_or_Hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to the bistro proved to be just as good as the first. My wife had her favourite for starters, local shrimps 10/10.. I had filo prawns with chilly dip 9.5/10 my wife had salmon fillet for main, I had lamb shoulder. We both had an abundance of veg & chips.. both meals 10/10. we finished off with a damson sponge with custard between us 10/10. The bill came to £63 with wine and drinks, great value for the quality of food. thanks to the the lovely girl who attended to us, she is a big asset to a lovely bistro.... "I'll be back"

Helpful?
Thank MerseysideDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Only stopped for a quick lunch, but lovely staff and great food, would definitely recommend. Nice and cosy in the downstairs seating

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely wee place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nothing to dislike about this wee bistro lovely food and very clean give it a go but stay of the sands

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank a.miller653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Visited this bistro on Saturday night with friends. The meal was simply superb. we all had 3 courses and couldn't fault any dish. I had salmon fish cakes for starters, followed by a delicious rib eye steak ( cooked to perfection), my sweet course was cheese and biscuits.. just enough and very tasty. A nice Gaelic coffee finished off this very quiet, comfortable, pleasant evening in lovely surroundings. we will be going back very soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysideDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed At Home Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 

Been to At Home Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing