We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Home Cafe and Bistro

At Home Cafe and Bistro
Cuisines: Cafe, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
shropshire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Only stopped one night in Grange and this was recommended to us. We were not let down as the meal was very good. Only downside, it did not take cards but not a problem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ginger1Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Homely and Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was the third time we have called into At Home, this time we had a really good breakfast. We have had snacks and sandwiches on previous visits and they have all been really tasty. The service is warm and welcoming and we will be returning during the summer, if there are any tables available!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jm001m3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We normally look for a pub with restaurant attached but we struggled to find anywhere in the area for the Saturday night over the May Day bank holiday, so we took a gamble and tried the bistro. We were not disappointed and will definitely return. The bistro is downstairs and easy to miss. The place was cosy and had a nice homely atmosphere. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Two of us had the roast lamb which was delicious and the other two had the pie of the day (steak and kidney), which was apparently equally good. Potatoes and veg were plentiful, very fresh and flavoursome. We didn't have a dessert as we were too full after our main course. All in all, a lovely meal. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Genieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good, cosy little bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

In March, this little bistro is only open on Friday and Saturday evenings and, in the dark, is quite easy to miss! But having found it, it's well worthwhile - particularly as there are very few other options for reasonable evening meals in Grange at that time of year.

The bistro is in the basement and has a cosy "in the cellars" ambience. Service is friendly and efficient. The food is good quality, although I was a little less enthusiastic about my salmon than my wife and son were about their lamb. There was nothing actually wrong with it - just a bit uninteresting. Desserts were good too. Prices for both food and wine are quite reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tortoise_or_Hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Our second visit to the bistro proved to be just as good as the first. My wife had her favourite for starters, local shrimps 10/10.. I had filo prawns with chilly dip 9.5/10 my wife had salmon fillet for main, I had lamb shoulder. We both had an abundance of veg & chips.. both meals 10/10. we finished off with a damson sponge with custard between us 10/10. The bill came to £63 with wine and drinks, great value for the quality of food. thanks to the the lovely girl who attended to us, she is a big asset to a lovely bistro.... "I'll be back"

Helpful?
Thank MerseysideDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed At Home Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 

Been to At Home Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing