We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B in the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birchleigh Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 as we were in Grange-over-Sands for a wedding at a local hotel.
This is a really superb B&B. It's been recently decorated and is well looked after and kept spotlessly clean. The couple who own the hotel are really friendly and very good hosts.
Breakfast was really good - fantastic quality ingredients, freshly cooked and well presented.

I thoroughly recommend the Birchleigh as a great base to explore the Lakes or if you are just needing to stay in Grange-over-Sands.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyC-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just stayed here whilst in Grange for a wedding and couldnt fault the place! Excellent room with beautiful furnishings and a comfy bed. Great service-went the extra mile. And finally..breakfast was amazing and cooked to order. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c4zza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Rooms are lovely and comfortable in this 4 bedroomed guesthouse. Breakfast was delicious and the owners very friendly. Thank you both for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitecrow79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst attending a friend's wedding. The room was superb, very clean, warm and clearly recently re-decorated. The couple who run the place were very friendly, attentive and even offered to give my wife a lift to the wedding venue! The breakfast was very tasty, with a decent portion size and a good variety of dishes, including some for the veggies amonst us. We left with the highest opinion of this place and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at this B&B as we were attending a hotel in the area. My partners mum found this B&B on the internet. When we arrived we were greeted and shown to our room, the room was small but beautifully decorated. It was big enough for what we needed it for. When we got back from the wedding late at night there was a flask of cold milk outside our door so we could have a cup of tea in the morning. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The breakfast was lovely too. It was such a nice stay and I would definitely stay again if i was in the area again, i would and have also been recommending this hotel to my friends. One thing I would say though is, they should charge more for the superb room, service and breakfast on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

What a fab B & B, very comfortable, clean and super decor far better than most hotels we have stayed in. Linda & Peter are lovely host's and Linda cook's a mean breakfast. Highly recommended and we would book again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Only stayed one night whilst visiting relatives staying nearby. Wow what a find. This place is excellent. The owners very welcoming, the guest house is immaculate. We had a rear bedroom giving excellent views out to sea. The breakfast is cooked to order, and we have had far inferior breakfasts in 4 star hotels at twice the price. Shame we only stayed one night. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corner Beech House
Corner Beech House
#3 of 30 in Grange-over-Sands
121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenbank Farm B&B
Greenbank Farm B&B
#7 of 15 in Cartmel
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Somerset House
Somerset House
#12 of 30 in Grange-over-Sands
82 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchleigh Guest House

Address: Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £68 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchleigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Birchleigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchleigh Guest House Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing