We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B and B in Grange!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchleigh Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Birchleigh Guest House
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best B and B in Grange!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. The whole place is imaculately clean and Linda and Peter are very welcoming. The rooms are beautifully decorated and again, spotless clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the duvet fabulous!! Its all lovely and snuggly!!
The breakfast is wonderful, fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee, full english breakfast and all locally sourced.
Its ideally placed within walking distance to the town centre and the promenade. I strongly recommend this guest house and will certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busababe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
36
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I've just come back from a two night stay at Birchleigh Guest House. It was such a fantastic place to stay that I've already booked another two nights in May and a weekend at the end of August to attend the Cartmel Races. Linda and Peter make you feel so welcome and are happy to have a natter and see to any requirements you may have. It feels as if you're staying in a friends home. The décor of the rooms are of an extremely high standard and so clean. The bed was very comfortable. The duvet and pillows were amazing. I didn't want to get out of bed! I had a room at the back which meant I had fantastic views over the bay. Breakfast was also very good. I have to mention Polly. A little dog with a huge personality who also makes you feel welcome!! So very cute!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsbels771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

A high quality B&B that was very reasonably priced.

I stayed two nights when attending the Morecambe Bay Partnership conference. I will certainly choose Birchleigh again if I come back to Grange over Sands, which I hope to do when walking one day.

Very close to the town centre, short walk to promenade and about ten minutes to station (and they offered to pick me up if I wanted). Helpful and friendly owners who are interested in their guests. High quality, well equipped and comfortable, good sized rooms, with excellent shower. I preferred a room at the back with view of the bay, but those at the front are quiet too – little traffic and excellent double glazing. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishintheocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We just stayed in this lovely B&B. We found it very welcoming and the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, not to mention the amazing view of the sea and mountains from our bedroom window! After being at a wedding all night, coming downstairs in the morning to a stunning full English breakfast and fresh fruit salad just put the cherry on the top for us. We will definitely be back and the very helpful owners have made a perfect B&B for all who come to the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the sea + mountains so best to see if you can get ones of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Birchleigh Guest House in Grange for a two day break, I can not recommend this little guest house enough, the en - suite room we stayed in was lovely, the bed was really comfortable so we had a good nights sleep, there is also a large flat screen tv if you just want to watch your favorite program.
In the morning we both had the cooked breakfast which is cooked fresh by Linda and served by Peter, they are a lovely couple who make you feel so welcome, you also get a great welcome from Polly there beautiful dog.
Like Arnold Schwarzenegger always says We'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but we stayed in the front room which is a little larger room than some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preidyCountryboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Have just returned from a weekend break to this lovely B & B. Upon arrival we were welcomed by a genuinly lovely and friendly couple (and one extremely cute dog) who couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much bother for them. The room was spotlessly clean, decorated to a modern style and of a great size, the little extras really made this room stand out from the rest (fresh milk, biscuits, fluffy towels and handwash/showergel etc). Breakfasts were done to a good standard and we were left full until the afternoon. Would definitely recommend this to all and will be returning. Thank you both!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilmarnock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

just stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast working in the area and stayed for 4 nights spotless clean and owners friendly,lovely breakfast too would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamwaters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchleigh Guest House

Property: Birchleigh Guest House
Address: Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchleigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Birchleigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchleigh Guest House Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing