We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchleigh Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

my husband and I stayed here for one night last night and couldn't fault anything, all fabulous and of superior standard, hosts were super, very friendly and accommodating nothing was a bother, advised us of a good place to eat which was superb too, breakfast was the best ive had in a long time and we have stayed in a lot of B&Bs. Well done keep up the good work we will be back im sure

Room Tip: room 1 lovely and you could see Morecambe bay out the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloeemily0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This visit was our second to Birchleigh Guest House. Both times we have stayed the rooms have been immaculate. Every room is tasefully decorated and spacious. Beds are comfy and breakfast is plentiful. Unlike most places you visit the photographs on their website represent the rooms well. In faxt some dont do the space justice.

Highly recommended if you are looking for a relaxing retreat and a base for local activities. We (Couple and one 10 year old) went with friends (also couple with one 10 year old). It was a great base to travel to Bowness for the day. (Owners have great local knowledge) We also took our bikes and went to Grizdale forest mountain biking (30 mins away). The accommodation has a secure and alarmed bike shed.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the top and is a tripple/family room (Double bed and real single bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and was very happy with the place. The room was very nice, well decorated, clean and smart. The en-suite was really good too, quite modern with a great shower. The landlord and landlady are very welcoming and friendly too.
The best thing about this place for me was the breakfast. I had the full English which comes with locally sourced meat. The bacon is beautiful and on that basis alone i'd happily stay here again!
If you don't know the town then it's located on the high street and just a couple of hundred yards from the promenade. Unfortunately the British Legion closed down during our stay as there was not enough custom but it's still a nice little town. Cartmel, a couple of miles away, is a beautiful little village with a nice old priory and some good pubs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We were given a warm welcome from Linda, Pete and Polly! The rooms were immaculate, tastefully decorated and peaceful. Breakfast was amazing, hot food served hot! Which is how it should be! We were in the lake district for a family event and just in conversation, my husband mentioned to Pete he was considering leaving his car at the event so he could have a pint, and enquiring about taxis. Pete offered to take us back in the morning to pick up the car! I have never known such kindness and generosity of spirit from an hotelier. We will be back for sure, whenever and wherever we are in the lakes. Highly, highly recommended. The Wrights, St Athan

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. The whole place is imaculately clean and Linda and Peter are very welcoming. The rooms are beautifully decorated and again, spotless clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the duvet fabulous!! Its all lovely and snuggly!!
The breakfast is wonderful, fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee, full english breakfast and all locally sourced.
Its ideally placed within walking distance to the town centre and the promenade. I strongly recommend this guest house and will certainly return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busababe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I've just come back from a two night stay at Birchleigh Guest House. It was such a fantastic place to stay that I've already booked another two nights in May and a weekend at the end of August to attend the Cartmel Races. Linda and Peter make you feel so welcome and are happy to have a natter and see to any requirements you may have. It feels as if you're staying in a friends home. The décor of the rooms are of an extremely high standard and so clean. The bed was very comfortable. The duvet and pillows were amazing. I didn't want to get out of bed! I had a room at the back which meant I had fantastic views over the bay. Breakfast was also very good. I have to mention Polly. A little dog with a huge personality who also makes you feel welcome!! So very cute!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helsbels771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

A high quality B&B that was very reasonably priced.

I stayed two nights when attending the Morecambe Bay Partnership conference. I will certainly choose Birchleigh again if I come back to Grange over Sands, which I hope to do when walking one day.

Very close to the town centre, short walk to promenade and about ten minutes to station (and they offered to pick me up if I wanted). Helpful and friendly owners who are interested in their guests. High quality, well equipped and comfortable, good sized rooms, with excellent shower. I preferred a room at the back with view of the bay, but those at the front are quiet too – little traffic and excellent double glazing. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishintheocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Villa
Bay Villa
#1 of 30 in Grange-over-Sands
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corner Beech House
Corner Beech House
#3 of 30 in Grange-over-Sands
117 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchleigh Guest House

Address: Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £78 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchleigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Birchleigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchleigh Guest House Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing