We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchleigh Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Having read reviews about the Birchleigh Guest House before booking it was a simple task to select and book.
On arrival we were most impressed by the cleanliness and the most hospitable welcome one could wish for.
The location to Grange centre and all amenities were spot on -especially the bakers for their custard slices.
The bedroom had every facility one could wish for with a bed so comfortable you did not want to get up!
On the day of departure the breakfast was of excellent presentation and quality if you visit you will not forget the sausage.
True value for money if you stay in the area

Room Tip: we did not see any others but the whole establishment was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just stayed two nights at birchleigh and was trying to think if we had stayed anywhere better in a guest house,the simple answer is no,this place is very good,spotlessly clean,great location,lovely hosts,great breakfast,it's a pleasure to stay there,keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jammmy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We visited Grange over Sands with a large group of friends and were initially disappointed that the arranged hotel could not accommodate all of us, however the owners recommended Birchleigh and we have been extremely happy during our two night stay. The guest house is on a main street and does not have any on site parking, but it is next to a local car park and we only had to pay £15 for 3 days.
The rooms are very very clean, beautifully decorated with modern en-suite bathrooms. The photographs do not really do it justice. We stayed in room 4 which is quite spacious and would easily sleep a family of three - it has a double and single bed that isn't squashed in.
Even though it overlooks the front street we did not have any trouble with noise in the room.
Like other reviews on trip advisor we found the owners very friendly and helpful. We would also have to agree with the good breakfast reviews, bacon locally produced and of high quality but more important to me,my egg was cooked to perfection.
We would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for somewhere in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HollyDayYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Good place to recover energies after a long day. Place to park our motorbikes. Well decored room, good bed. Beautiful house. Full breakfast or whatever you want. They surprised us with fresh milk as a welcome, lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_____362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

my husband and I stayed here for one night last night and couldn't fault anything, all fabulous and of superior standard, hosts were super, very friendly and accommodating nothing was a bother, advised us of a good place to eat which was superb too, breakfast was the best ive had in a long time and we have stayed in a lot of B&Bs. Well done keep up the good work we will be back im sure

Room Tip: room 1 lovely and you could see Morecambe bay out the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloeemily0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This visit was our second to Birchleigh Guest House. Both times we have stayed the rooms have been immaculate. Every room is tasefully decorated and spacious. Beds are comfy and breakfast is plentiful. Unlike most places you visit the photographs on their website represent the rooms well. In faxt some dont do the space justice.

Highly recommended if you are looking for a relaxing retreat and a base for local activities. We (Couple and one 10 year old) went with friends (also couple with one 10 year old). It was a great base to travel to Bowness for the day. (Owners have great local knowledge) We also took our bikes and went to Grizdale forest mountain biking (30 mins away). The accommodation has a secure and alarmed bike shed.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the top and is a tripple/family room (Double bed and real single bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and was very happy with the place. The room was very nice, well decorated, clean and smart. The en-suite was really good too, quite modern with a great shower. The landlord and landlady are very welcoming and friendly too.
The best thing about this place for me was the breakfast. I had the full English which comes with locally sourced meat. The bacon is beautiful and on that basis alone i'd happily stay here again!
If you don't know the town then it's located on the high street and just a couple of hundred yards from the promenade. Unfortunately the British Legion closed down during our stay as there was not enough custom but it's still a nice little town. Cartmel, a couple of miles away, is a beautiful little village with a nice old priory and some good pubs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
0.3 mi away
Bay Villa
Bay Villa
#1 of 30 in Grange-over-Sands
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corner Beech House
Corner Beech House
#3 of 30 in Grange-over-Sands
118 reviews
1 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
282 reviews
1 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
1.4 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchleigh Guest House

Address: Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchleigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Birchleigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchleigh Guest House Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing