We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would recommend to anyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riding Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riding Farm
Ranked #3 of 10 Gateshead B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“would recommend to anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We needed a place to stay for the family for a few days in the north east and found Riding Farm on Laterooms for a very reasonable price.
On the run up to our stay we got a communication from Louise with directions and offer of discount vouchers to Beamish Museum, (much appreciated on both counts), upon our arrival Louise greeted us very warmly (and with a fire going in the wood burning stove) and gave us several helpful suggestions of places to visit.
The cottage was spotless with comfortable sofas and beds, a well appointed kitchen and a very home from home atmosphere
We look forward to a return stay later in the year and would recommend Riding farm to anyone needed to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scapegoat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidingfarmGateshead, Owner at Riding Farm, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Riding Cottage. Look forward to welcoming you again soon to make the most of that year pass to Beamish Museum.

Kind regards

Angus and Lousie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent 7 days at Riding Farm in the Garden Room on a bed and breakfast basis as our base from which to explore both the local area (Beamish Museum, Tanfield Railway, Durham, Gateshead) and further afield (Bamburgh Castle, Cragside, Wallington, Seaton Deveral, Bowes Museum and more).
Swayed by the positive reviews on this site, we hoped our plans would work out and we are pleased to say that everything did. The room was very comfortable and we got good nights' sleep. The excellent breakfasts got us off to a good start for the day and returning to a welcoming fire in the grate of the comfortable lounge was something to look forward to.
However, what made the difference to make this a memorable stay, was the welcome from Louise and Angus and the care they take to make sure that you enjoy your stay. Their advice on how to get the best from your day (from where to eat, to the time of the unmissable performance of the swan automaton at Bowes Museum) was invaluable.
The only way that our holiday could have been better was if we had a satnav to supplement my map-reading skills - there are a lot of junctions in the north east without signs. Luckily, we got to see some great countryside and sights even when we were 'going the wrong way'!
We'd repeat our holiday in a trice, and would definitely stay at Riding Farm again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidingfarmGateshead, Owner at Riding Farm, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon - we did enjoy our evening chats over the fire

Kind regards

Angus and Lousie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our weekend to visit our son in Newcastle - we wanted to stay close but not in a built up area. The B&B was perfect for us. And we took advantage of going to a place I always wanted to go to which was Beamish.

Great breakfasts and a comfortable clean room - perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidingfarmGateshead, Owner at Riding Farm, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the your visit to Beamish Museum. Hope to see you again soon next time you visit your son in Newcastle.

Kind regards

Angus and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely setting, gorgeous rooms, really friendly owners. I was very impressed from the outset. I would class this as 5 star not 4 I think it is that good, the breakfast was amazing too. DEFINATELY can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 780Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidingfarmGateshead, Manager at Riding Farm, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review we know how busy you are, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Angus and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in Bowes cottage for a week and found it very comfortable. Downstairs had a kitchen diner and living area with everything we could need. Upstairs had a double bedroom and a single which we used for storing our luggage. Bathroom had a bath and good shower, space a bit tight but we got used to manoeuvring around.
WI-FI is provided by a mains dongle which worked most of the time.
The outlook from the large arched windows and patio was across open farmland with pheasants , a red kite and many smaller birds.
The farm is surrounded by public footpaths including a community trail.
It takes about 10 minutes to Team Valley (Sainsbury's, M&S), 20 minutes to Kingston Park, Park and ride for Newcastle.
We would have liked to have seen receptacles for recycling of plastics/glass/paper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidingfarmGateshead, Manager at Riding Farm, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Bowes Barn so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - you did pack so much into your time with us

Look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Chosen for its' location and the apartment choice , we were not disappointed for our 2 night stay.
Well appointed , located perfectly for our trips out to historic sights and the breakfast in the big dining room was splendid . Lovely , friendly owners and even helped with the wi-fi connection .
Just glad there was no opposing traffic on the single track approach to the farm. Altogether first class.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidingfarmGateshead, Owner at Riding Farm, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for spending the time to post a review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Angus and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Uk
Level Contributor
244 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in the green room in the farmhouse for 2 nights for the great north run. It is very remote as you would expect a farm to be. The long narrow country lane approach was extremely muddy, my husband is cleaning the car as I write! We were made welcome by the owners and they were helpful in recommending places to eat for our evening meals. Our room was clean and comfortable and the fresh milk for tea and coffee much appreciated. The only negative was the shower. It was not powerful enough, the water came our in a trickle although the water was fairly hot. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank york1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidingfarmGateshead, Owner at Riding Farm, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us

I do wish you had mentioned the shower power while staying with us it was a simple internal filter and back up to full power again



Thanks again kind regards Angus and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.0 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
1.7 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riding Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riding Farm

Property: Riding Farm
Address: Riding Farm Riding Lane | Kibblesworth nr Beamish, Gateshead NE11 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riding Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riding Farm provides relaxed spacious country style accommodation combined with modern luxuries, all ensuite rooms, some ground floor accommodation and apartments. A wide range of choice to suit all needs for breakfast. Located on a working family farm, surrounded by peaceful countryside with a network of footpaths and cycleways. Beamish Museum, Tanfield Railway and The Angel of the North all within 7 minutes of Riding Farm.Perfect for a family holiday short break or business traveller as we are only 4 miles from the A1M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riding Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing