We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with a great host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gateshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexandra Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Gateshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stranraer, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay with a great host”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I work in the service industry and the service me and my partner recieved was first class, Phyll was a excellent host. The B&B is only a short walk to the Gateshead Metro and very easy to find. The room was clean and very comfortable and the whole B&B was beautifully decorated and well kept. The breakfast was very enjoyable and a good selection of cereal, toast, tea or coffee, strawberries, melon and a full english. We enjoyed it so much that we plan to return for our christmas shopping instead of going to Glasgow as we usually do.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
20
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Excellent breakfast with vegetarian option catered for. Pleasant hostess keen to ensure experience is a good one. Certainly worth more than the three star rating. Location convenient for our activities with no problem parking. Excellent award winning Municipal Park a few hundred yards away. We will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I've stayed here before and didn't have a problem so I booked again. What a change. The landlady couldn't be bothered with me. I thought I was being helpful by not having a full breakfast and just asked for a bacon sandwich to take with me. Well you'd have thought I was asking for the earth. "It's not good for my health" came the reply and I'd have to see if any of the other guests were having breakfast before that was considered. One particular day she had made me one but one of the other guests had taken it by mistake. No problem, or so I thought. There wasn't even an offer to make me another one. All I heard were moans and groans and not made to feel welcome at all. There are many other guest houses in the area of which I now stay at when I'm working in the area, which is quite often. Also if you're in a party of young people forget it. The "sorry we're full" excuse will mean she doesn't want you there. My money is good anywhere, which is where it will be going in the future.

Room Tip: Clean and comfortable is a plus but service very much let it down
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie682511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Recently I had the privelege of staying twice at Phyll's comfortable B&B and enjoyed very much our conversations, her tailor-made English Breakfast and her attention to the needs of her guests - certainly equal if not better than the many of the other B&Bs I have used around the British Isles. The regular bus service around the corner into both Gateshead and Newcastle also proved most convenient. Next time I'm up north I wouldn't choose any other B&B than Phyll's Alexandra Guuest House. Chris Hamilton, Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Best to phone directly and speak with Phyll Watson about your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed at the Alexandra for the Great North Run 2012, Found the location very handy for the Metro but it was the hospitality and venue that made our stay the more welcome. Breakfast intimate and of good quality (it was like having breakfast at home). Phil made us very welcome and we will use the Alex on our return. Jason, Claire and baby Alfie.

Room Tip: We had the front familly room, very quiet lots of room and very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonlee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have stayed at the Alexander 4-5 times over the last year and are always well satified with the service provided by Phyll & her team. Very clean rooms, Frendly & helpful staff. The breakfast is definatly worth a mention. Have and will definaly return again. Would recommend to single and family alike.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure you get the room you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Me and my team have a week at the Alexander we were working up in the north east nothing was to much trouble for our host Phil rooms wear spotless a good hearty breakfast and very friendly I would recommend this b&b wholeheartedly thanks Chris Craig liam co
Playsmart UK

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollydimple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
1.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
348 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Guest House

Property: Alexandra Guest House
Address: 377 Alexandra Road, Gateshead NE8 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Guest House is a three star, enjoyEngland approved property with an excellent visitor's book. Offering high standards throughout, Alexandra Guest House is conveniently situated minutes from local major attractions all served by an excellent transport network, offering direct links to any area in the North-East. All visitors, families and contractors can be ensured of a warm friendly welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing