We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexandra Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gateshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexandra Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Gateshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed for 8 days at Phyll's Guest House and can highly recommend it. My room was very clean and comfortable, the bedding and towels immaculate. I do not have full English breakfast, but I was offered cereals, yogurts and fruits as well as the tea and toast. The full English breakfasts of other guests looked very nice and were enjoyed by all. Phyll is a lovely lady who makes everyone really welcome. I will definitely be making a return visit

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

I work in the service industry and the service me and my partner recieved was first class, Phyll was a excellent host. The B&B is only a short walk to the Gateshead Metro and very easy to find. The room was clean and very comfortable and the whole B&B was beautifully decorated and well kept. The breakfast was very enjoyable and a good selection of cereal, toast, tea or coffee, strawberries, melon and a full english. We enjoyed it so much that we plan to return for our christmas shopping instead of going to Glasgow as we usually do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Excellent breakfast with vegetarian option catered for. Pleasant hostess keen to ensure experience is a good one. Certainly worth more than the three star rating. Location convenient for our activities with no problem parking. Excellent award winning Municipal Park a few hundred yards away. We will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I've stayed here before and didn't have a problem so I booked again. What a change. The landlady couldn't be bothered with me. I thought I was being helpful by not having a full breakfast and just asked for a bacon sandwich to take with me. Well you'd have thought I was asking for the earth. "It's not good for my health" came the reply and I'd have to see if any of the other guests were having breakfast before that was considered. One particular day she had made me one but one of the other guests had taken it by mistake. No problem, or so I thought. There wasn't even an offer to make me another one. All I heard were moans and groans and not made to feel welcome at all. There are many other guest houses in the area of which I now stay at when I'm working in the area, which is quite often. Also if you're in a party of young people forget it. The "sorry we're full" excuse will mean she doesn't want you there. My money is good anywhere, which is where it will be going in the future.

Room Tip: Clean and comfortable is a plus but service very much let it down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddie682511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Recently I had the privelege of staying twice at Phyll's comfortable B&B and enjoyed very much our conversations, her tailor-made English Breakfast and her attention to the needs of her guests - certainly equal if not better than the many of the other B&Bs I have used around the British Isles. The regular bus service around the corner into both Gateshead and Newcastle also proved most convenient. Next time I'm up north I wouldn't choose any other B&B than Phyll's Alexandra Guuest House. Chris Hamilton, Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Best to phone directly and speak with Phyll Watson about your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed at the Alexandra for the Great North Run 2012, Found the location very handy for the Metro but it was the hospitality and venue that made our stay the more welcome. Breakfast intimate and of good quality (it was like having breakfast at home). Phil made us very welcome and we will use the Alex on our return. Jason, Claire and baby Alfie.

Room Tip: We had the front familly room, very quiet lots of room and very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasonlee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have stayed at the Alexander 4-5 times over the last year and are always well satified with the service provided by Phyll & her team. Very clean rooms, Frendly & helpful staff. The breakfast is definatly worth a mention. Have and will definaly return again. Would recommend to single and family alike.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure you get the room you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigEk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gateshead hotels
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Guest House

Address: 377 Alexandra Road, Gateshead NE8 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gateshead
Price Range: £21 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Guest House is a three star, enjoyEngland approved property with an excellent visitor's book. Offering high standards throughout, Alexandra Guest House is conveniently situated minutes from local major attractions all served by an excellent transport network, offering direct links to any area in the North-East. All visitors, families and contractors can be ensured of a warm friendly welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing