We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food Fantastic View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six

Six
Ranked #8 of 264 Restaurants in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$62
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Six is the stunning rooftop restaurant and bar at BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art combining breathtaking panoramic views with great food, great service and a great experience. Opened in 2009, the style of food is British modern, featuring the very best locally sourced ingredients simply cooked and served in a relaxed and friendly setting.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food Fantastic View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We decided to try Six on our first night in the area as we were unsure of the geography and it was on the Gourmet card so we hoped the food would be good value for money.
The food was in fact excellent and the view across the river stunning. The view from the "glass box" ladies toilet is breathtaking and certainly not for the faint hearted or anyone with a fear of heights. The picture does not do it justice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaxB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    506
    205
    96
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First time but won't be the last!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

First time we have eaten here and it won't be the last. The views from the restaurant are fantastic. Started off with 2 cocktails before the meal. I had Duck for starter and my husband had the terrine, both were lovely and well presented. I had seabass for main and husband had lamb. The seabass was lovely but the fish sauce it came with was quite strong and you didn't need a lot of it. I tried the lamb and that was lovely and tender. Finished off the meal by sharing a cheese board. We come to Newcastle regular for the football and have never tried this restaurant. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Gilly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food let down by basic mistakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely venue with stunning views, however our night was let down by a very late table and lack of food. We arrived at the restaurant with good time for our 8.40 reservation, they explained our table was not ready so we headed to the bar for a drink. Our table disappointedly was not ready for a whole 40 min...while I appreciate you can't judge how long people will take to finish their meals, I do expect some soft of nibbles while we waited for that time. After being seated we were told there were no sirloin steaks left and only one sea bass, as it happens we had all pretty much said we were getting steaks, again this was a Friday night, restaurants should not run out of food on prime nights like Friday or Saturdays. We then ordered some more drinks only to be told that the menu in the bar is the old drinks menu and some drinks are not available...really! I was so disappointed as we went there instead of marco Pierre whites, however the only saving grace was that the food was cooked very very well. Maybe we just caught a bad night, but a restaurant like six should be setting it self a high standard. I'd say give it a try as the food is nice and views even better, and with a few tweaks it could be great, but not with such basic errors, Marcos remains my favourite

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrbrightside13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely food, great service and reasonably priced. Nice drinks and good views. Lovely for birthdays and special occasions

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A romantic meal with lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I wanted to book a table overlooking the Tyne on a tuesday, was told it could not be guaranteed but they would try, I advised I would ring en route. The guy I spoke to did not advise the others and a bit of confusion followed, however, when we arrived and said we would wait for a good table, we did not have to wait to long. We got a good table, though the restaurant was very busy.

The food was great, very nice, we had a steak. The bread was really lovely! A small thing but it was delicious! We shared a desert, no problem and ended with an irish coffee. We did have to ask the waitress to wipe the table clean which was a bit of a shame.

Lovely food, good atmosphere, great views of the Millennium Bridge and the Newcastle skyline, definitely worth another visit. Unsure of value for money as I didn't pay the bill this time....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suegibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Six also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing