We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting if working in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sutherlands Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Gateshead B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting if working in the area”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stopped here a few times now when working in the Gateshead area. Excellent large contemporary and comfortable clean rooms with free wifi.
Excellent value pub grub and very friendly staff. They have a good buskers night too. Helen, the owner is a complete star

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
7
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just a one night stay while visiting family, will stay again. Room was a very high standard and judging by earlier reviews much refurbishment has taken place. Only had a breakfast which was perfectly OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a party there, the staff were very friendly and helpful but as you entered there was tape holding the carpet down on the steps to the reception. The room was comfortable but we had a big crack in the sink which was very sharp and there was a big crack in the floor tiles in the bathroom. There was no double glazing so the noise from outside was loud at night. We were not told that there was a strippers ladies night at the venue on the Friday night and the noise from this was terribly loud, also to be met by very drunk ladies as you go up to your room and have them trying to grab your husband is not very nice and not what you expect from any hotel. The breakfast was OK, but being told that your breakfast cereals are going to put put on the top of a piece of wood over the pool table is not what i have experienced at any other hotel. We also had the cleaners doing their job around us while we were eating our cooked breakfast is quite off putting. We paid £70 per night while being here, which was a special rate and i still think this is too much, if i had paid the £90 per night i would have been even more shocked at my experience. I have stayed at hotels where i have paid less money but have had superior service and lots more quality for my money. The up side to this hotel are the staff who were very friendly and willing to help you when ever you needed them.

Room Tip: Try to book when there are no events going on unless you want your husband or partner to be accoste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

i had my 25th wedding anivesary party here and stayed in hotel. rooms were perfect very clean plenty room food was super. would recomend to anyone. perfect place for a party staff brilliant will do anythingfor you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a base for our hen party and were not disappointed. The rooms were great, spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were freindly and helpful and the breakfast was gorgeous. The highlight of the stay was being allowed into the kids play area after hours it was great fun. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerniAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

On arrival the genuine smiles started at reception. I booked in with ease and was pleasantly surprised when i was taken up to my room, very spacious,modern,warm and clean. Decided to eat in that night, all i can say about the food is that i wish i hadnt had lunch earlier in the day! My starter of king prawns that arrived with another smiling member of staff would put many hotels main courses to shame in terms of size of portion and taste. The main course also didnt disappoint huge portion of sizzling beef and chicken with a stack of wraps. Sorry only disappointment is that i didnt have any space for dessert! Check out in the morning was swift and professional not forgeting the smiles...
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidWeekMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I had a meeting at the Sutherlands which was a working meeting, the staff were very friendly and went out of there way to make our stay a good one, the food on the night time was excellant the portions were very good all presented very well, I did not stay overnight been did have a look in my collegues room and the standards were very good clean, comfortable and modern. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceycopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gateshead hotels
4.2 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
2.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
3.2 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherlands Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherlands Boutique Hotel

Property: Sutherlands Boutique Hotel
Address: Stone Street | Windy Nook, Gateshead NE10 9RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherlands Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sutherlands Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing