We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for one night with a group of friends for a night out in Newcastle. Hotel is lovely and staff were friendly and helpful upon arrival, giving us taxi cards so we could get home ok from town only about 5 minutes from the city centre in a cab. We had requested a twin room and were given a double.. As the hotel was full the reception staff sent someone up to make up the sofa bed which was helpful, but unfortunately not very comfortable to sleep on. Otherwise the room was lovely, very large and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks you for choosing to stay at the hotel on your recent visit to Newcastle, delighted that you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the area and hotel soon

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    348
    96
    18
    16
See reviews for
206
323
27
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights on business. Firstly the location was only a 2 mins drive from the office. Wifi in the rooms and in the bar. Rooms are fully stocked with hair-dryers, kettle, tea/coffee.
The gym and pool are open 6:30am - 11pm which was really handy.
The breakfast options in the morning were amazing, great way to start the day.
Only downside was that my room was above the fitness studio, you can hear the music quite loudly. But that stops at 10pm.
Food was good, bar staff were attentive.
Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbanks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent business trip to the area. I am delighted to hear that everything went well; we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed overnight on 1st February 2014. My daughter and I took my granddaughter for a shopping trip to the Metro Centre and the hotel is very near. I was a lovely trip the hotel was great and the staff helpful and friendly

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent shopping trip, and your kind review of the hotel. We look forward to your next shopping trip!

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We visit Newcastle every year to watch the Wear & Tyne Derby in Sunderland. The Newcastle Gateshead Marriott has been our preferred hotel for the last years and will probably stay like that as well.

Check in was friendly as Always. Our room was at the third floor and was spacious. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and spacious.
Breakfast was fine and the leasure club was perfect after a day in the city to relax. We had to pool to ourselves after 9pm.

We had some problems due to the weather this year with our flight back to Holland. The friendly frontdesk staff was very helpfull.

We will sure come back to this hotel as long as the wear-tyne derby is being played.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, appreciate the kind words and have passed them onto the hotel teams. Look forward to welcoming you back to the area and the hotel on the next derby

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at the Marriott for a short break visiting friends nearby.

We arrived mid afternoon to a friendly reception..check in was easy and the receptionist very informative. Our requests had been noted and followed through which we thought was excellent and then we were provided with our room keys to our standard room. Upon opening the door to the room we could instantly smell cigarette smoke.. We checked the linens which all appeared clean but the smell was apparent. A quick call down to reception and we were supplied with keys to a new room on the next level.. Great except upon arrival the cleaner was still in the bathroom surprised to see us when we walked in. No problem though we waited for her to finish and a least it smelled fresh!!

The room was large well equipped, a bathroom with a huge bath and shower and lots of towels. Decoration looked a bit dated but it was immaculate.

Breakfast was included in our reservation and again very good with plenty of choice.. We were greeted again by friendly staff and shown to our table and fresh coffee brought to us within minutes.

The hotel location is excellent within walking distance of the metro centre. Parking at the hotel is plentiful and free.

The only reason we have given three stars was the sleep quality. The second room we were given was on the fifth floor and unfortunately we were woken several times in the night by a rumbling sound not sure if this was the heating or extractor fans above which did not make for a good nights sleep.

Despite this we would return given the good rates this hotel offers but perhaps would request a lower level room in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligaz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel and posting a review following your stay. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion, kindly rest assured it is not indicative of the levels of comfort normally associated with the hotel and brand. Do contact me at the hotel prior to your next stay so that we may prepare for your arrival and restore your faith fully.

Kind regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I would just like to say that we have just returned from a night at the hotel and both me and my mum have had a fantastic time. where do i start, from checking in on friday night the young girl on the desk (think her name was Sharon). she was amazing, booked us a taxi to the theatre nothing was too much for her. Saturday morning breakfast was lovely, we were taken to our table by a lovely lady with short blonde hair (didnt catch her name)but she was soo helpful. when we checked out we asked to leave bags as we where heading to the metrocentre shopping this was not a problem for them. when we returned after a day shopping, sharon as on the desk again (and if though we had checked out she still went above and beyond to help us) she asked if we had lovely night the night before as was just amazing a real credit to the reception team and the hotel. we will be returning. Thank you so much for make my mums birthday weekend amazing .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review following your stay. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back, soon!

Kind regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Disappointed with this hotel as it felt tired and in need of a revamp. Even the sign outside was missing some lights in the letters so it spelt M__riott. The staff were friendly enough but this place needs some attention.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madmagic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for staying at the hotel, and taking the time to post a review on the website. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are in the process of fixing the signage, and this should be done immediately.

Kind regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.9 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
5.7 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Property: Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Address: Metrocentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#9 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Metrocentre
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Marriott Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing