We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruby Wedding Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ruby Wedding Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This visit was organized by my daughter and son in law, as a treat ,to celebrate our ruby wedding.From the moment we walked through the doors,nothing was to much trouble, we were treated like royalty. The room was amazing ,and I wanted to fetch the bed home with me it was soooooo comfy. Breakfast was everything you could want ....and more. Very pleasant and attentive staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and hope to return soon. Thanks to all staff, and thanks for our complimentary bottle of wine, and card.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room, so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Beverley,

Delighted that you enjoyed your ruby wedding "break" at the hotel. The team endeavours to meet and exceed expectations of our customers at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, many thanks for the great review!

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    331
    90
    17
    13
See reviews for
192
309
24
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

After a fairly traumatic journey to Newcastle and the hotel we booked being completely awful we arrived at the marriott with two very tired children at 10.30 pm. The staff were very welcoming especially Mohammad, who was brilliant with my eldest son who has sensory processing disorder and can become very overwhelmed in new situations. He really put him at ease and made us feel calmer instantly.
Our room was lovely warm spacious and very comfy. The food we had for both breakfast and room service was delicious. The breakfast staff were great and once again I must congratulate them on their interaction with my son.
Thank you for a great stay we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, Director of Operations at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to the area. Delighted that we looked after your family well, and I have passed on your kind words to the hotel team. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit, so that we can make sure Mohammed is there to welcome you!

Warm regards

Ajith
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Hotel Staff here are very friendly and helpful. I stay here regularly for business and the hotel staff always remember my name and even various members of my family if they come to stay with me. Located 2minutes walk across from the Metro center mall in Gateshead, with everything inside you could need. The lobby computors are fairly slow. Food inside hotel restaurant and room service food is great. Bar has a few tv's that play all major sport/football events and a small outside 'beer garden'. Rooms are a little dated but very clean and I didn't hear any noise from slamming corridor doors or early morning cleaners which is always a bonus. The swimming pool and gym are fantastic. Would definately recommend this hotel for close proximity to Newcastle and Northumberland and value for money.

Room Tip: They have two themed rooms 'wild western' and 'arabic tent' very amusing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTD837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your continued custom, and taking the time to review the hotel and facilities. I am glad that you feel we are a "home from home". The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the area and the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Well we stayed here for 2 nights (3rd and 4th of May) arrived at the hotel and were so pleased with our room- the beds are to die for absolutely huge, rooms very spacious with little sofa etc
, lots of tv channels, facilities great.. Asked for 2 champagne glasses and ice , were brought up within minutes.. Forgot my toothpaste, not a problem they had some at reception.. Everything you need for a perfect weekend. Taxis cheap into city centre (£9), had breakfast in bed one day- amazing!! And in the restaurant on the second day which was fab lots to choose from.. Can order pancakes, kippers, omelettes, Swimming pool etc complimentary ideal break for any occasion lots of families here too. Overall a fantastic weekend, thanks for a great birthday!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenniferMc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you had a brilliant time! Have passed your comments to the hotel team. Look forward to welcoming you back to the area and the hotel.

Warm regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! Great comfortable rooms with very large comfortable beds! Had a really good night sleep so not too noisy.

Conference facilities also top class with lovely lunch and tea/coffee and amazing snacks served throughout.

Staff are very friendly and the metro centre is on your doorstep for some pre- dinner retail therapy!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for choosing our venue for your business meet, we are delighted with your positive review. I hope you managed time for some retail therapy. We look forward to welcoming you back to the area and hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYRSHIRE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay here over the Easter weekend. The staff in this hotel were extremely helpful and all very pleasant, always smiling, especially one of the gentleman on the reception desk who checked us in. Our room for 2 adults and 2 kids was lovely, nice and spacious, very clean, on the 2nd floor overlooking debenhams!! Best view ever!

Used the leisure club twice during our stay, the pool was really cold but the girls had fun! Nice seating area to relax in at side of pool. Facilities in changing area were good.

Bar area at night was always busy and there was plenty of areas around reception to sit as well. Only ate in the restaurant for breakfast, which was lovely, everything you could want from continental to cooked breakfast. My daughters friend is a vegetation and they ordered her separate cooked breakfast.

We got a taxi from Newcastle train station the day we arrived and it cost us around £13 but there is a bus stop in front of the hotel and on the Saturday we got a family day ticket for £12, on the way back to the station on the Sunday the one way fare on the bus was £11. We spent our last day in the Life science centre next to central station which was great and they had a left luggage facility.

Staying at the Glasgow Marriott soon so I hope its as good as this one!

Thanks for making our Easter weekend so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYRSHIREBOYDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Delighted that you had a brilliant Easter break; thank you for your kind words of praise and I will ensure that your feedback is cascaded to the team. Wwe hope you have a great stay at Glasgow, and look forward to welcoming you back to the area and hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have just returned from another fantastic stay at the Marriott in Gateshead Metro Centre. I myself, my husband and our two little ones went along for a stay in the Easter holidays with another two families. From the minute we arrived the Marriott staff were excellent. They were extremely professional and did everything we could to ensure we had a fantastic stay.
Rooms were perfect; check-in was spot on. After a lovely swim in the beautiful spa area we all met in the Chats bar to meet for afternoon tea, which I have to say was excellent value for money. As it was Easter they also had an area for our little ones to go and make Easter Crafts.
We then returned to our rooms and then returned to the Chats bar for the entire evening and the children also returned to the Spa. Our evening in the Chats bar was fantastic, the service was excellent and all of the staff in Chats are a credit to the hotel. The children also had an evening meal in the bar which was some of the best children’s meals I have ever had in a hotel.
The following morning, we were greeted by lovely staff again and we were all made to feel really welcome and they could not do enough for our group. We had a lovely lady who came to us and spoke directly to the children and offered them all a nice hot chocolate before they had breakfast. She was just wonderful.
We can’t wait to book another stay this Marriott, this really is the perfect family get away with cinema and shopping on the door step, we really did not venture very far as the Marriott and Staff made us feel so welcome at the hotel we did not want to leave.
A special thank you to Ashley, Lesley, Laura and all Chats staff who are just the best and could not have done enough for the 11 members of our group.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel over Easter and delighted that you had a great time. Appreciate your taking the time to review the hotel, your kind words have been passed to all members of the team. We look forward to hosting your next family break!

Warm regards

Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
3.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Property: Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Address: Metrocentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#9 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Metrocentre
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Marriott Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing