We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$82
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eslington Villa(Gateshead)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead(Gateshead)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beamish Park Hotel(Marley Hill)
US$99
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley(Gateshead)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ravensworth Arms(Gateshead)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Farm Hotel(Gateshead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
472
377
109
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
377
109
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro centreleisure clubleisure centreshopping tripgreat location for shoppingsauna and steam roomretail parkxmas shoppingbar menuchanging roomslovely hoteltwo double bedsroom was largeafternoon teareception staffsunday morningplenty of parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

The accommodation was ok however the food was not.

A group of us staying on business decided to eat in the hotel. The restaurant was closed with only the bar menu availiable.

The bar menu was very sparce in terms of choice and very expensive with a burger costing £16, starters and desserts £6+.

3 if us had burgers and the quality was awful. The bap was inedable in one and the two chicken burgers were dry and in places so dry unchewable.

At the end of meal staff were told food was not to standard expected and nothing was done.

Many of the business travellers who have stayed regularly for some time commented how the accommodation had gone downhilll in recent months.

The hotel is a premium cost to others in locality but not worth it as a business traveller.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank pinklilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the hotel. Please accept my unreserved apologies for not meeting your expectations. I woul appreciate it if you could contact me directly for an opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Warm regards
Raoul Lemmerling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a typical Marriott, comfy beds, clean rooms... It does feel a little bit dated... But the rooms are all well maintained.
The staff are so friendly, typical Northern hospitality... They cant do enough for you.
Hotel is close to the MetroCentre and Airport, an ideal base, only 10 minutes into Newcastle city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank goundar-morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank for your kind review, much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the area and our hotel

Warm regards
Raoul Lemmerling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We recently had our wedding in this hotel and I can't fault a thing! Even though it's so close to the Metrocentre there was no noise and you felt a million miles away. The rooms are very spacious, with huge comfy beds, sofa and coffee table. All the members of staff that we encountered were brilliant, but special thanks to the wedding team who ensured our day ran smoothly. The food in this hotel is lovely and room service is quick and easy. The special touches of champagne and chocolate strawberries in the bridal suite were really thoughtful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeordieGirl504060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Congratulations! I am delighted that all went to plan and you had a lovely time at the hotel for your wedding. Please remember us for your future requirements and thank you in advance for recommending us to your family and friends.

Warm regards
Raoul Lemmerling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent 2 nights here in Aug 2014. The hotel is situated across the street from the Metro Centre so very handy if you want to hit the shops. It was my husbands 50th birthday. I phoned ahead and asked the staff to put champagne and a birthday balloon in our room. When we arrived we were advised that, because it was my husbands birthday, we were given a complimentary upgrade! We were also given drinks vouchers to use to the value of £30 and a voucher for 10% off a meal. The room itself was lovely with all the mod cons. Spacious, bright and airy. The bathroom was very modern with a massive bath and a very good shower. And all spotlessly clean. The champagne and balloon were waiting for us and the staff couldn't do enough. We dined in the hotel in the evening and the food was good, although there was no vegetarian choice in the restaurant, which I found rather odd. The hotel has leisure facilities and we had a swim in the lovely pool before dinner. This is the third Marriott Hotel we have stayed in and I cant fault any of them. From the moment we checked in we were made feel very welcome. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off on the Sunday morning, and we had to leave our room. Again the hotel staff seemed very organised and the hotel was quickly evacuated. The poor souls who had been in the pool at the time were quickly given bathrobes and flip flops while to stop them shivering while we all waited in the car park until it was safe to return! Apart from that, a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor overlooking the car park at the front of the hotel. No probs with noise
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your husband's birthday celebrations at the hotel, and the team did everything possible to exceed your expectations.
Apologies for the inconvenience of the evacuation, the team are fully trained for these situations and always have your safety and security as priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Raoul Lemmerling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several nights away in business. hotel is what you would expect from a Marriott, clean, secure, good breakfast and helpful staff.
Location is excellent, plenty of places to eat nearby, and added advantage of within a few hundred yards of the Metro centre if you forget anything or fancy the cinema

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Travel123m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metrocentre, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your custom and your words of kind appreciation. We look forward to welcomign you back to the area and hotel; pelae let us know if there are any particular requirements for your intended stay.

Kind regards
Raoul Lemmerling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews