We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plough Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gateshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plough Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Gateshead B&B and Inns
Washington, Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding value, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Went with my son to try the place after hearing good things about it. Service was excellent, menu imaginative (gastropub but not trying too hard, not pretentious) and food quality very good. Small cup of lobster bisque as a complimentary starter was lovely, duck terrine, crab and smoked salmon mousse and slow-braised shin of beef all excellent. And bargain prices, too. To cap it all, Mordue Workie Ticket (my favourite beer) on handpump. This will become our regular place if it stays this good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevefromWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

On route to Beamish museum, we called into this pub to ask for directions. From the start the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
We ended up staying for a full English breakfast in front of a roaring log fire, which was available to non residents but it was so good we decided to book a room for the two nights we were in the area.
After an enjoyable, but cold day at Beamish, we returned to the fireside with a pint of real ale for me and a glass of Mulled wine for my wife. We were shown to our room with a king size bed, an en-suite bath room, television and coffee/tea making facilities.
After a shower and change we dined in the restaurant on the most wonderful food and the service was personal and attentive.
10/10 for an excellent stay that we happened upon by chance and will definitely return to again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed at The Plough in July for a birthday weekend to Newcastle as most of the big hotel chains had no rooms available. Sounded ideal on the website and I have stayed in Gateshead before. However, this hotel is not in Gateshead. It is 30 mins on a bus to the City Centre. The room we stayed in Number 4 was not en-suite and had to power shower as stated so had a very awkward 2 nights of two girls bathing and washing hair over the bath! Very inconvenient. The room itself was nice and well decorated. Carpet in main stairway could defo do with replacing. Food was ok, quite greasy. We choose not to have the full english breakfast and instead had rolls n sausage, sausage was burnt, decided not to have breakfast on the Sunday. Service and staff were ok very helpful with directions and publi transport. Defo aimed at an olde clientele. Won't go back but would say it is a nice local pub on a nice day with a nice beer garden.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I don't like leaving bad reviews and I did write to the hotel with my complaints but to date have not received a reply.
Room large, clean, light and airy, comfy double bed and full size single. Furnished to a high standard. Analogue TV with no remote but told TV's were about to be replaced and all the remotes had been stolen.
First night (Thursday) - great. Good night's sleep. Breakfast full English and absolutely fine.
Second night (Friday) - night from hell. We were immediately above the bar. They had a lock in with loud rowdy shouting and music. At 12:30 went down to ask bar attendant to keep the noise down - no apology, looked at me as though I'd asked him to set fire to himself, everyone else glared at me. No change to noise level. Waited another half hour and complained again. Got a less than hospitable reception and was told people were waiting on Taxis. Within 5 mins they had got the people out of the pub but a group proceeded to stand outside waiting for their taxi, making more nose than they had in the bar and every sentence was littered with at least one expletive beginning with F. After about another 20-30 mins all was quiet.
Saturday breakfast was served by a young girl who looked like she'd just got out of bed, dressed in a hoodie & joggers. Breakfast was cremated within half an inch of it's life, the butter & cereals were over a month out of date and the milk jug had a ring of dried milk from it's previous offering.
No apologies for the noise the following morning, no apologies about the out of date products. To add insult to injury there is a set of instructions in the room stated that the hotel would be locked from 11:30 (12midnight at weekends) and not to go downstairs without making prior arrangements they also stated “Please respect other guests late in the evening who may be sleeping”.
Unfortunately they had asked us to pay the previous evening (I was surprised to not have to pay on arrival) being cynical I can only assume that was because they knew there would be problems the following morning. No management was available. I have written to them over 3 weeks ago but have not received a reply.
The bad review/score applies to our experiences on Friday night/Saturday morning. Had we only stayed Thursday night the scores would have been 5 or 6 across the board. I have since read the other reviewer's comments on late rooms and realise we are not the only ones. Travellers beware.....don't like leaving bad reviews and I did write to the hotel with my complaints but to date have not received a rep

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittlePiskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Perfect for exploring the NE by car, a short distance from Sunderland (Stadium of Light) and Newcastle attractions. Views across the valley to the Angel of the North. Delicious homemade food, comfortable and spacious rooms, perfect hospitality. Service second to none that I've experienced before. I well recommend this accommodation for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiffweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Ive now stopped for 2 or 3 nights a week over the last month at this fine village inn just outside Newcastle.

Both rooms I have stayed in have been excellent, being spacious with ample hanging space and drawers for clothes. The rooms are en suite with a good shower and plenty of clean towels, etc

There is a kettle, tea and coffee, etc in the room and free wi-fi is available (good speed too)

Food is available downstairs either in the restaurant or the bar. The food is excellent, all being freshly prepared in the kitchen and cooked to order. Prices are very reasonable too, and most main courses are available for under a tenner.

The bar is well stocked, with 2 real ales on hand pump. It is run by Lisa who really is the life and soul of the place. She is funny, bossy and a truly dreadful singer, but she makes everyone feel welcome, introducing you to the locals and cracking jokes.

Breakfast is taken downstairs at a time to suit yourself (7 -9 am). Again, it is freshly made and of a very good standard. Ceareal, toast, tea, coffee, full english or just a simple bacon butty if thats what you prefer.

The only way I could suggest improvement is by getting the in room TV onto an external aerial. But otherwise, this is a great place to stop if you want to be close to Newcastle, Gateshead, but without the hustle bustle of staying in the city centre

I will continue to use The Plough whenever I work in the North East.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gateshead hotels
2.0 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
4.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
4.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough Inn

Property: Plough Inn
Address: Front St, Kibblesworth, Gateshead NE11 0YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gateshead
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing