We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea time treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plough Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gateshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plough Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Gateshead B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tea time treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I gave ourselves a treat by going to the Plough Inn for tea. Although the staff were very busy setting up for a Charity Event taking place tomorrow it did not affect the great service we received. Food hot, tasty and not too long to wait, even though the food is cooked as it is ordered. Staff were as friendly as ever. Lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I had booked just one night here so we could spend more time at Beamish Museum. To be honest, I didn't expect much for £50, the stair carpet and handrails leading up to the rooms are grubby, but the room itself was spacious and had the essentials. I was however disappointed that there was no mattress protector or pillow protectors, but to be fair the bedding was modern and clean. There was a kettle and cups with ample tea, coffee, sugar and uht milk, the wicker waste basket (which had seen better days) had no liner so was unsuitable for our used tea bags, and there was no bin in the en-suite. The en-suite toilet and washbasin and the large white towels were all clean, however, the shower cubicle was the dirtiest I have ever seen! I mentioned this on leaving the next day and was told that it would be inspected immediately. Breakfast was served in the large restaurant, no cereals or yogurt, but a large jug of fresh orange and tea or coffee, with a delicious, well cooked, non greasy, "full English", with toast and butter. Staff are very helpful and pleasant, there was a live group on till 11.30 in the bar, so it was very noisy until about midnight.
If they can get the tiles clean in the shower cubicle of the room we were in, fit pillow and mattress protectors, clean the handrails, door handles, light switches etc I would recommend it. Also, some handwash would be useful in the en-suite, we had none with us, and at £1 or less a bottle it's not expensive to supply, and a new bin with a liner please!

Room Tip: Ask if there is any live entertainment on and what time it finishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I had never been to this restaurant and this is the first time I have ever written a trip advisor review. I would just like to say that the food was amazing! Served at the perfect temperature, well presented and most importantly, it tasted great. The service was second to none, the lady behind the bar (wish I had asked her name) was lovely, her excellent attentiveness towards customers and the level of service she provides was outstanding. Will most definitely go back to the Plough Inn, thanks again for a much enjoyed meal and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just had a lovely lunch - food was gorgeous and service great with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. A great menu for lunch or evening, something for everyone and great value too. A visit essential! We have been for both evening meal and lunchtime and no faults for either.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrekanddonkey2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem ... New owners have really brought the place up to scratch while keeping the charm of the original features. Menu choice is regularly changed and we've never had a bad meal. Staff are very attentive and there's always a warm welcome with a roaring fire! Love the fact that dogs are welcome, would not hesitate to recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Popped into The Plough tonight for a drink after work and decided to stay and try the food as they had an Italian special on the menu 2 course for £7.95 ... I'm so glad we did. I had the chicken cacciatore which was absolutely delicious. We'll be back again soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Came up from Bristol to attend a wedding reception here wow! what a great place, excellent food excellent staff, a great pint of real ale served properly in a proper glass, lovely evening with more excellent food, and entertainment so good we returned on the Sunday for Sunday Lunch, what a great weekend we had. can't wait to visit our friends in the north again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.0 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.9 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Headley Hall
Headley Hall
#2 of 24 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riding Farm
Riding Farm
#3 of 10 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough Inn

Property: Plough Inn
Address: Front St, Kibblesworth, Gateshead NE11 0YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gateshead
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing