We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Angel View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angel View Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I stay at the Angel regularly when I come to the area. It's always exceptionally clean with a warm welcome. Very friendly and helpful staff. I have always found the food to be of a high standard and have recommended the hotel to many friends and look forward to my next visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    98
    35
    23
    24
See reviews for
51
86
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed over on the May bank holiday weekend. The receptin staff were friendly, but the room was a disappointment. The bedside cabinets were thick with dust and hair and the bathroom had a putrid smell. Unfortunately our nights rest was disturbed by the occupants in the next room with the volume of the telly followed by unnecessarily loud bedroom antics! The view from the hotel is lovely, just such a shame the inside dosent match up to the outside

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickey18132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gateshead hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

On the 30th of May, we got married at this venue. From start to finish it was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff were polite, helpful and went out there way to see to your needs. A special mention for Emma who was in charge of the wedding set-up, she made our day go by without a hitch. We plan to go back there on our anniversary next year, a special place with special people!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having been a regular attender for meals at this restaurant we were somewhat disappointed to be served a poor meal.The restaurant is well furnished with good staff . We have always enjoyed good meals in the past. We left feeling very disillusioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and two friends aged between 20 & 21 stayed on a Saturday night for a night out in Newcastle to celebrate my friends 21st birthday. On arrival the receptionist was dead friendly and the room itself was much nicer than we'd been expecting.
We went down for a drink before we went to the Metro centre for something to eat and the bar tender was really friendly and made the nicest cocktails that were really good value for money
The metro centre is only 10 minutes away if that so it was quick enough to get there for something to eat that night
Really surprised by the other reviews I've seen about service because the staff couldn't have been nicer, they were helpful sorting us a taxi and the night porter was really nice considering we go in at 4am we stayed and had a chat with him for like fifteen minutes
Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there, we went to Ikuze at the metro centre which was gorgeous
Overall really nice stay, the rooms are really cute - view of the Angel of the North was lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for an Angel view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel could be so good, but misses out. It charges 4 star prices, but doesn't come up to a four star hotel standard. It's situated in a nice enough country location (just off the A1, 6 miles drive away from Gateshead) with a nice view of the Angel of the North statue. The staff are very friendly, and place has a small 'comfortable' feel to it. However, the bedroom was cold, and there was no way to switch the radiators on, and evenings in May are cool, to say the least. The hotel advertises 'free Wifi' access. Well, yes, but only when it works! It did for an hour in the bar, and very intermittent connection when having breakfast. But no connection at all in the bedroom. If you are staying there on business wanting to use the internet then forget it.
Breakfast was adequate, a full English, but choice was lacking, for instance, no fruit available.
For the price charged I would look for other establishments in the area that are probably better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank middlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Recently stayed on business and borrowed an iron to iron some blouses, what a big mistake!
The iron destroyed one of my blouses by burning it and putting three big holes in the front.
I reported it the next morning to reception but it has taken over a month for the hotel to come back to me to try and resolve it and that is only after me chasing them via email and phone calls.
they claim the iron was not faulty and that I had set it on the wrong setting! The baseplate of the iron was dirty and covered in mess which caused it to stick. The only thing they will offer me is £20 in gift vouchers to use at the hotel even though I will never be back to the area again, they refused to give me a cheque instead. The blouse cost me over £40.
The attitude of the Managers and Directors has been disgusting, no customer service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.0 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
452 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
258 reviews
4.8 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
329 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
360 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel View Inn

Property: Angel View Inn
Address: Low Eighton, Gateshead NE9 7UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Angel View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel View Hotel Gateshead
Angel Inn View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing