We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Angel View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angel View Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Called in to Angel Inn for dinner. Stood at the 'please wait to be seated' sign for approx 10 mins. My partner and I took it in turns going to the toilet whilst waiting to be seated. No staff member could be bothered to come over to seat us so we left the restaurant wasn't even busy. My advice is not to bother with the Angel Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Beth1186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    101
    35
    23
    24
See reviews for
52
86
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very quiet hotel with a lovely view of the Angel of the North, the bedroom was very nice, but the bathroom was not as up too date as I would have expected, old fashioned shower over the bath with mixer taps and the shower curtain was too short wetting the bathroom floor.

Not good value for money, very expensive and charged extra for breakfast, also breakfast finished too early for a Sunday morning, checkout was 11 am and breakfast finished at 9.30 am.

We decided to eat in the restaurant, the service was very slow even though it was not busy, Not very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsquirrel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A lovely location, staff very young , unsupportive, rude, and didnt know what they was doing x long way down loads of corridoors to bedroom, very small rooms expensive for money even though used late rooms , breakfast exspensive for money x

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate a special occasion and we were really impressed. We arrived at the Angel View fairly early and our room was not ready yet, so we decided to have something to eat in the restaurant, as the lovely cosy atmosphere of the place was calling our attention. The building still has it's history present as it used to be a farm with stables for horses and it's beautiful inside with the olden stone arches, and outside, where you can see the lovely views with the horses and the Angel of The North (check the pictures) Finish our delicious lunch, when someone from reception came into the restaurant to tell us our room was ready, still prior to the standard check in time. When we got to our Angel View room, which was what we booked for a extra £10.00 and it was more than worth it, as you could see the Angel statue and the horses as you looked out the window. Stayed for a special occasion and I must say the place, the staff and the food, definitely made it special! Thank you so much to all the team. Hope to see you soon :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sscastellano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip and enjoyed the stay. Staff very attentive and helpful and food good. Hotel room clean and service second to none. I would recommend a stay at this hotel and disregard any poor reviews as these people are comparing the angel to the ritz. This is a lovely place with easy access to surrounding areas.There was a power cut on 2nd night of staying but that's life and power back on in minutes. Thanks again for a lovely welcome and great stay and as for the people who rated the food poor, try cooking at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here in June for one night only on business, on arrival the hotel looks great, just as the photo's online.
Check in was flawless and swift, the young girl was polite and efficient.

Unfortunately there was no WiFi in anywhere other than the bar area. I needed it and booked the hotel as it had WiFi in the rooms so I could do some work for the following day. I tried to sit in the bar area but I personally found it too distracting to do any work.

My room (room 11) was rather tired looking and could really do with a bit of updating the trim looked a bit worse for wear and the towel rail was loose on the wall, there was tea and coffee and some complimentary shower gel/soap.
The bathroom had a small, chest height window that had no blind so luckily for anyone outside they had some nice eye candy as I got in and out of the shower. This never bothered me as it was quiet outside but lady travellers may not be so comfortable with it..

Breakfast is served in the restaurant and was very nice, I opted for the full English (to preserve my buff body for the next time I am ogled through the window) no issues whatsoever with this it would have got 4 * overall had I had WiFi as advertised and the room was a bit fresher.

Room Tip: Swerve room 11 unless it's been refurbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The angel view is what it says straight overlooking the angel of the north,lovely friendly hotel.Rooms nice and clean plenty of fresh towels and coffee and tea facilities ,wifi included although this was not working in the rooms when I stayed but worked in the restaurant area
Food is excellent and very reasonably prices and the place is obviously well known as lots of locals came to eat there ,breakfast good to .
would recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_m_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
3.0 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.8 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel View Inn

Property: Angel View Inn
Address: Low Eighton, Gateshead NE9 7UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Angel View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel View Hotel Gateshead
Angel Inn View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing