We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Quite a new hotel, clean and comfortable room. Not bad dinner and breakfast. Nice walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    731
    289
    112
    52
See reviews for
317
742
68
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over the diamond jubilee weekend. Excellent location. 5 mins from Tyne bridge. 2 minutes from millennium bridge and your in Newcastle.
Hotel was full when we were there quite a lot of young people as pop concert over the river, yet never heard any noise from anyone.
First room we got toilet light would not stay on. As they could not get it fixed we got moved to another room. Staff could not do enough to help.|First room looked on to an office block 2nd looked on to the river.
Rooms very clean. Breakfast good.
Will use again.
Food in bar lovely.
We booked a double room , both rooms had a double and single bed. Very spacious. large bathroom for a hotel. Shower was great as was bath a good size.

Room Tip: Higher room would be less noisy. We were on the top opposite lift and no noise from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamboaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel not long after it opened, and although it had been hard to park then, we had assumed wrongly that this was an early teething problem, and as we had otherwise enjoyed our stay we decided to rebook. We arrived after a long drive from London to find there was absolutely nowhere to park. We doubted that there would be room in the car park due to the pathetic amount of spaces but we thought we would find somewhere along the road as we had done before. However as this was a bank holiday and not a Sunday this was not possible either and we saw at least five cars with tickets. obviously people had thought they could park here because it was a bank holiday, which we also assumed until we saw their tickets. I realise that this is a Newcastle city council issue but I think the hotel need to offer some help and advice on the problem, as they must be aware that this such a nusiance. We were advised to park in the Baltic car park but soon realised that at a cost of a pound an hour all through the day and night this was going to cost a fortune. Having already paid £6.00 we asked again in reception and someone else told us we could park in the garage at the end of the road which all seemed a bit dodgy, and we couldnt understand why we we not told this six hours earlier. We have stayed in many hotels in Newcastle because this is our second child to attend university here, but have never had such a problem in any of them. It is such a shame because we have no other complaints about the hotel and all the staff are lovely, and we thought we had found a new good place to stay, but I dont feel we could face all this hassle next time. I hope something can be sorted out soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Having worked in the hotel industry for 9 years, I have high expectations of hotels and this hotel did not dissappoint at all.
Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, 3 adults sharing a room. The room was a good size to fit us and our luggage in. The room was very clean and to a high standard.
The location was great. Right next to the Tyne and has excellent views of the bridges. Bars and town are within walking distance. The Metro centre is only a short taxi drive away, as is the train station.
The staff were all very polite and helpful - all were an absolute credit to the management.
The food was amazing, both dinner and breakfast. We were on a DBB rate and it was such great value for money.
I would 100% use this hotel again if returning to the area and would now look into other Jurys Inn when travelling.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaz H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here on the 2nd June, thought we were staying at the newcastle one so this was a nice surprise, room was spotless and had a river view. disappointed that the price didnt include breakfast though and they wanted £8.50 for it, decided to get a full english in newcastle for £5.

excellent location for stag/hen weekend just remember that you need a £100 deposit on every room

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Location, Food, Service, 10 out of 10. Brilliant Hotel for a visit to Newcastle the accomodation is great with fantastic views of the river Tyne and bridges from a riverside room, the evening meal and breakfast were also superb

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patron116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Well,first of all this is a review of the restaurant attached to the Jury's Inn Gateshead,NOT a review of the actual hotel,as it was listed on here as a hotel understandably and not a restaurant.
We went on a very quiet Wednesday evening,and were virtually the only diners in the restaurant.We ordered,sat back and waited.Then the carnage started !!!! Within five minutes of us sitting down and ordering a group of approximately 40 diners came in !...Then,around 15 minutes after that another bus trip of around 50 diners came in !!!...It was bedlam,and this is where Gillian came into her own ! I must say that because the restaurant was clearly understaffed for this unforseen influx of customers,they struggled,but never once did Miss/Mrs Kelly let her face drop,and she was extremely polite and courteous,and was bending over backwards to try to get round to everybody,and keep everybody happy under extreme provacation at times from the less than sympathetic customers.
Anyway,we ordered starters of a ham terrine,served on a bed of fancy lettuce,crispy bread,and with lightly seasoned softened red cabbage.A very ample portion,and very nice too.The other starter was a fishcake on a bed of fancy lettuce,with a light sauce surrounding it.
Both our mains were the stuffed chicken breast with goats cheese,wrapped in parma ham served on a bed of mash ith asparagus and a redcurrant jus....This was absolutely beautiful,and the mash and asparagus were the stars of the show here....mouthwateringly nice....
For the dessert we had a fruit crumble and fresh pouring cream,which was absolutely packed with apple,rhubarb,popping red berries and blackberries...slightly tarte for my liking,but you couldn't complain at the quality of the dessert.I would have preferred a jug of custard,I have to say though.
When we placed our order,we had ordered a side order of breads...This was the only blot on the food as it was forgotten about.When it eventually arrived you could tell it had been microwaved to within an inch of its life,and if we hadn't eaten it within 30 seconds,it turned to absolute stone !! We will forgive them for that,and they were very apologetic,and resolved the issue immediately and satisfactorily.
Throughout this very testing night for the staff,they were helpful,polite,and smily and cheerful...which I have to admit I wouldn't have been.
All in all,Gillian Kelly was THE star of the show for keeping it all together,and making sure that the disruptions and complaints were no doubt kept to a minimum.
I will forgive them this time,and will certainly return a second time as the food and service was very good.....BUT,I would like to think that they will learn from this very stressful night for them.Thank you Gillian.X.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Address: Sterling House South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing