We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed in the Jury's Inn for one night (room 216). The bathroom door was warped so I couldn't close it, despit the hotel' obvious efforts to sand down the bottom third of the door. My keycard stopped working twice, both times needing me to go back to reception to get a new card - no checks as to whether it was actually my room, nor an apology for it not working. Room was clean although no iron or ironing board. No gym although the hotel has negotiated a cheap rate with a nearby gym. Overall, distinctly average.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tylerdurden1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Tylerdurden1uk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. I am disappointed to read you felt we did not reach your expectations and would be grateful if you would contact me directly so that I may investigate your comments further.
I can be contacted at ann_bright@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    670
    272
    94
    45
See reviews for
282
676
64
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night not a great hotel to be honest rooms were dated. No iron or iron board in the room heard all the road noise as we had a front face room. Breakfast selection not great wouldn't say this is a four star rated at all.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ahmed A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. I am disappointed to read you felt we did not reach your expectations and that you found our rooms dated. Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays is a 3 star property little more than 2 years old which usually receives excellent feedback on our overall hotel standards.

The next time you are visiting Newcastle please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Bit of a last minute booking which i did through laterooms.com but managed to find Jury Inns had 3 rooms left as most of the Hotels were fully booked. So managed to book 2 nights Saturday and Sunday for £ 165 for two excluding breakfast which i don't think is a bad price. The location is excellent a short walk over the bridge and you are at the bottom of the town centre. Pitcher and Piano just across the bridge if you fancy a local drink without having to go too far along with a couple of bars down the quays or a little walk up to grey street.
The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and great location for a night out around newcastle without having to be in the town centre.
Yes one drawback is the parking but the hotel is having another carpark built - but this wasnt a big drawback as you can park on the main road after 6.00 p.m until the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 650markb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear 650markb,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found both the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the team were both positive aspects of your visit.

The next time you are visiting Newcastle please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great place to stay in an area with so many great places to visit. The hotel is modern and welcoming. Rooms very comfortable and have everything needed. The staff are great, many are Irish and appear to be genuinely warm and friendly. Breakfast offered a very good choice of good quality hot and cold food. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Tyne offer a good view but we didn't hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytripper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Happytripper14,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. It's a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our location and facilities are well suited to your needs. I have shared your kind comments with the team, who are delighted to have made such a great impression.

The next time you are visiting NewcastleGateshead Quays please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Jury's inn Gateshead is in a central location and was very clean and well decorated. I feel it was slightly over priced for what it was and the bathroom was quite small. The breakfast (£8.50pp) was definitely overpriced but there was a good selection, however the staff were very slow at clearing the tables. The staff were pleasant but lacked the personal touch especially at the front desk. The views over the river were very nice as you could see the Millenium Bridge light up at night.

Room Tip: River view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us although disappointing to read you did not feel the team gave our usual high standard of service. I hope your experience has not put you off visiting us again and hope we will be welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

The next time you are visiting NewcastleGateshead Quays please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I've been there for 2 weeks and everything was perfect! The bed and the bathroom are very comfortables. The food is delicious.
I've been there for 2 weeks and everything was perfect! The bed and the bathroom are very comfortables. The food is delicious.
I've been there for 2 weeks and everything was perfect! The bed and the bathroom are very comfortables. The food is delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rômulo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

The next time you are visiting NewcastleGateshead Quays please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry SWales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel itself was ok. What spoilt it for me is that when I booked there was an error with my bill (Jurys mistake). I thought that the issue was sorted until I received my bank statement, I was overcharged by £240. After a lot of emails and effort on my part- and that of my bank, the payment was returned to me without an appology, I emailed to say that I was disapointed that they had not said sorry and my email was ignored. Poor customer service. Next buiness trip to Newcastle I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigphil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. I am disappointed to read you felt we did not reach your expectations and would be grateful if you would contact me directly so that I may investigate your comments further.
I can be contacted at ann_bright@jurysinns.com.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
3.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Address: Sterling House South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing