We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at the Jury's Inn during the beginning of June this year.
I found the Hotel to be very good, in terms of features and overall presentation.

Situated by the Tyne river, its close to the famous Tyne Bridge, and also the Millennium Bridge.
Most amenities are within walking distance. I was able to work to my office (near Northumberland Street) in the space of about 15-20 minutes.

My only comment would be that the food on the menu is not varied enough. I did ask about this and was told the menu only gets changed every 3-4 months. For that reason I gave the Hotel a 4 as I am a vegetarian so this was a bit of a challenge for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambrish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,788 - 1,794 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I enjoyed my overnight stay here. Arrived around 2pm and parked in hotel car park for a charge of approx. £7.00. Check in was easy, staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is quite new and in a great location for restaurants, bars and river views (though not necessarily a view from your bedroom). 2 minutes walk from the Baltic gallery/restaurant and Sage music venue. Our room, on 4th floor (lifts available) overlooking office buildings was quiet, clean and tidy. Flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, comfortable bed. Bathroom perfectly adequate with Gilchrist and Soames shampoo/shower gel/soap dispensers and hairdryer on the wall. Sufficient hanging space for a weekend break. Breakfast buffet was very well done with lots of choice and freshly prepared. Hot drinks from vending dispensers. I'd be happy to recommend the hotel, it is not in the town centre so no traffic noise and only 10 minutes walk to city shops over the Millennium footbridge. A value for money experience. A suggestion for improvement would be to offer free parking to residents on a first come first served basis.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river but be aware that people may be sitting outside with their drinks on sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Jurys for one overnight trip whilst travelling to the NE on business. The staff were friendly the restaurant was good and the room was spotless. It is a pleasant location next to the river and I had the best nights sleep I have had in ages. Booked on booking.com and got a great deal for B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewoodsinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Good hotel, clean and modern with a nice bar on the quayside if weather is OK. Couple of problems though car park tiny and therefore need to make alternative arrangements. Don't know if it was just the weekend (Saturday night) we stayed but hotel was full of single sex groups obviously in Newcastle for a night out and atmosphere wasn't particuarly pleasant - I wouldn't fancy staying there with family or with young children.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel top class setting will be back clean bedroom great fast lifts right near the Tyne breakfast was great no filter coffee was a let down no room in the car park had to park in road Newcastle was great

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9961mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Decent enough hotel on the south bank of the hotel. Only one thing wrong - the very small car park meant we had to park on the street one night. Free parking stopped at 8.00am and when we went down to move the cars at 8.05am, they already had parking tickets on them, timed at 8.01am! The warden must know hotel residents have no alternative but to park on the streets and were waiting to pounce the second 8.00am passed. I appreciate towns have to manage parking but we were not causing an obstruction, and to give us less that 1 minute's grace was a step too far. I also feel the hotel could have done more to have warned us about the "efficiency" of the wardens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

So booked in and thought "nice hot shower after long day of work"- no hot water.

Called reception- assured the manager was on the roof fixing something, water will be hot in 5 minutes

45 minutes later no hot water- but the manager was working on the issue. (Now thinking Fawlty Towers - Basil on the roof with a spanner!)

So went out- returned to find a letter under door- apologies for the issue and assurance they were working on it

Woke up- no hot water- so cold wash as did not have time to take the free taxi to local leisure centre for a shower. Reception assured me a new part was on way to fix the boiler and there would be hot water by the time I returned

So back after long hot day- still no water- part on way from Leciester and further promises all will be fixed soon

What to do- check out and find somewhere else or hope all is fixed soon.

Fingers are crossed as I write this that there will be hot water soon- if not then will need to find somewhere else.

This is the second time I have stayed here- there is something not quite right about how this hotel works- can't quite work out if it's the building, staff or something else- but very hit and miss on both visits

Good luck if you choose here

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Address: Sterling House South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: £52 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing