We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coach party holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coach party holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Came to stay here as part of a Just Go holiday excursion to the North East. The rooms were clean with TV and kettle and comfy bed and hot shower/ bath. The breakfast was self service, nice and large varied selection. The dinners were OK, a few niggles such as undercooked vegetables, potatoes served with stir fry and noodles, and potatoes with pasta - odd combinations. Not sure the hotel is used to catering dinners for large coach parties. But the staff were friendly and helpful and polite. Nice to hear seagulls from bedroom window as we were so close to river

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking river best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    659
    268
    94
    42
See reviews for
272
663
63
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have visited the Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead several times for work. The hotel is in a great location for all amenities. The staff are always friendly and helpful, with great knowledge of the local area of where to eat and drink.
Every time I've stayed the rooms are spotless, including flat screen T.V and tea/coffee making facilities. Room's are spacious and include shampoo, conditioner and hairdryer.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at the Jury's Inn during the beginning of June this year.
I found the Hotel to be very good, in terms of features and overall presentation.

Situated by the Tyne river, its close to the famous Tyne Bridge, and also the Millennium Bridge.
Most amenities are within walking distance. I was able to work to my office (near Northumberland Street) in the space of about 15-20 minutes.

My only comment would be that the food on the menu is not varied enough. I did ask about this and was told the menu only gets changed every 3-4 months. For that reason I gave the Hotel a 4 as I am a vegetarian so this was a bit of a challenge for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambrish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I enjoyed my overnight stay here. Arrived around 2pm and parked in hotel car park for a charge of approx. £7.00. Check in was easy, staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is quite new and in a great location for restaurants, bars and river views (though not necessarily a view from your bedroom). 2 minutes walk from the Baltic gallery/restaurant and Sage music venue. Our room, on 4th floor (lifts available) overlooking office buildings was quiet, clean and tidy. Flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, comfortable bed. Bathroom perfectly adequate with Gilchrist and Soames shampoo/shower gel/soap dispensers and hairdryer on the wall. Sufficient hanging space for a weekend break. Breakfast buffet was very well done with lots of choice and freshly prepared. Hot drinks from vending dispensers. I'd be happy to recommend the hotel, it is not in the town centre so no traffic noise and only 10 minutes walk to city shops over the Millennium footbridge. A value for money experience. A suggestion for improvement would be to offer free parking to residents on a first come first served basis.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river but be aware that people may be sitting outside with their drinks on sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Jurys for one overnight trip whilst travelling to the NE on business. The staff were friendly the restaurant was good and the room was spotless. It is a pleasant location next to the river and I had the best nights sleep I have had in ages. Booked on booking.com and got a great deal for B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewoodsinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Good hotel, clean and modern with a nice bar on the quayside if weather is OK. Couple of problems though car park tiny and therefore need to make alternative arrangements. Don't know if it was just the weekend (Saturday night) we stayed but hotel was full of single sex groups obviously in Newcastle for a night out and atmosphere wasn't particuarly pleasant - I wouldn't fancy staying there with family or with young children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel top class setting will be back clean bedroom great fast lifts right near the Tyne breakfast was great no filter coffee was a let down no room in the car park had to park in road Newcastle was great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9961mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Address: Sterling House South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing