We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel with superb views of The Tyne & Millennium Bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our room was lovely with panoramic picture windows that filled an entire wall - with a superb view of The Millennium Bridge, The River Tyne and some other ultra-modern waterside buildings which made for a great stay. Staff are friendly and efficient - this is a well run, modern city hotel. We would choose to stay here again.

The Jurys Inn at Gateshead Quays is on the South Shore Road. It's a part of the old riverside area which is gradually being completely redeveloped. The hotel has a small car park for about 35 cars. It's first-come basis, pull up at the barrier, push the button and the hotel reception staff raise the barrier for you as it's right by the side of the hotel. It costs £6.50 per day and they add it to your bill when you leave. If it's full then you have two other choices: the public car park next door at Baltic Quay (£3 for the first two hours and then £1 per hour thereafter, so not cheap) or on the single yellow line outside on the road - which is fine after 6pm and before 8am or all day on Sunday.

The hotel is in good decorative order and everything worked well. The reception team are professional and friendly. We booked a superior triple room with breakfast. The room was great and was on the third floor. I would suggest a high floor and away from above the bar & outside seating area as I suspect this could get very noisy on a warm, summer evening at the weekend. There are lots of stag & hen parties (although I read somewhere that the hotel have a strict limit on the number of such parties they'll accept at any one time). We stayed on Friday & Saturday night and there was only a little noise for a very short period - it did not detract from our good experience.

The fit-out in the room was good, the beds very comfortable and the superior rooms come with iron and ironing board too. If you're a member of the Jurys Inn Clubcard then you get free high speed wifi for up to four devices, otherwise the free version is just for one device and is just standard speed - so since joining their club is free just do it beforehand! You get a free coffee too included in your stay!

Our room had aircon which was silent in operation and effective. The bathroom was a bit dowdy which was a shame as the rest of the setup is first-class. It's clean and modern but the suite is a bit cheap and the lighting is the same - reminded me of a Travel Lodge rather than a hotel. That's my only criticism. The 'rain' shower is decent but not hugely powerful.

Breakfast is lovely with a wide choice. It's self-service buffet but everything was hot and tasty. The design is good with no pinchpoints for folk taking food or using the toasters. Hot full English, cold meats & cheeses, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, toast etc.

So we enjoyed our stay. The view is probably what made it for us so, if your room didn't have the amazing views, the experience could be less uplifting. We had a meal in the restaurant on one night - you can choose from either the bar or restaurant menu. The service was fine but, like many hotel restaurants, it lacked a great atmosphere. But the food was good, pricing was fair and we would eat there again - although I am not raving about it.

So well done to the team running this Jurys Inn. Thank you for a nice, pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: Get a high floor (there's four floors) and a room with views across the river. Our superior roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arianne1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,840 - 1,846 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We decided when on an mid week quick evening trip down to quayside that it would be lovely to stay the weekend so we popped into jurys on off chance of getting a room for sat night & the fab guy at reception gave us a great deal which we couldn't turn down. We had a fab time at the hotel with a superb view from our room and breakfast was just as superb. The staff were v helpful and friendly and gave us invaluable advice which we greatly appreciated.
Thoroughly recommend the hotel & its staff-will be returning :-)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KHHyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Kirstie H,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

The next time you are visiting NewcastleGateshead Quays please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a good hotel representing excellent value for the price. The rooms are fairly basic, but have everything you might need. The double bed was comfortable, but on the small side - fine for me on my own, but it would have been a squash if my wife had been with me. The bathroom was clean and functioned well, although it was starting to look a bit faded so probably due a refresh. The location is excellent and a real plus point - a flat walk alongside the river to the millennium bridge, about 200 yards away, then across the bridge to the many good restaurants there. I will use this again on my return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. It's a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that our location and facilities are well-suited to your needs.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme to our bedrooms and bathrooms, I am confident when you visit us again you will see a significant improvement in the decor of our bathrooms.

The next time you are visiting NewcastleGateshead Quays please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After a long day of sight seeing this hotel is very welcoming. The staff are very helpful and efficient. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, however the distance down endless corridors from the lifts. The downstairs bar and restaurant are really sensational! The food however, is rubbish! I cannot believe they can charge for the fare we were served as a part of the package on our tour! What a let down. Please fix this!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Mark T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. It's a pleasure to see that overall you enjoyed your stay, and that our location and facilities are well-suited to your needs.

Here at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays we welcome many tour groups to our hotel and as such have a number of varied menus to cater for our guests, It is disappointing to read you did not enjoy the menu served for your tour and have passed on your comments to our kitchen team.

I hope this has not discouraged you from visiting us again and hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Read reviews after I had booked this hotel and gotta say from my expierence of the hotel it was bang in .. Not one fault could I find with the helpfulness if the staff particular the girl on reception when we checked I on Sunday 17/08/14 .. No qualms about staying there again next season .. In my view for price fab value ...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The jury's inn Gateshead Is in a great location with lovely scenery. The hotel is very clean and welcoming and the hotel staff were particularly friendly and accommodating, especially joe behind the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Ayling22,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. It's a pleasure to read your kind comments about the team, in particular Joe who is delighted to have made such a good impression

The next time you are visiting NewcastleGateshead Quays please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely place, great location, joe and the people behind the bar was a great laugh and couldn't of asked for more from them! Everything was clean and tidy and well maintained! Also helped with taxi's and generally cared about our weekend away

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank S-Jackson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann_Bright, Operations Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear S-Jackson1982,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review following your recent stay with us at Jurys Inn NewcastleGateshead Quays. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is always very rewarding to hear when our efforts have been recognised, and I have shared your kind comments with the team, who are delighted to have made such a good impression

The next time you are visiting NewcastleGateshead Quays please feel free to contact me directly - ann_bright@jurysinns.com and I will ensure you are looked after during your visit.

Kind Regards
Ann Bright
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,526 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Address: Sterling House South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: £49 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing