We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short changed”

The Imperial Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 265 Restaurants in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Short changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I took my wife for a nice meal here a week ago, this was the first time i had been here so wasnt that impressed by the look of it from outside, on entering you have to climb a flight of stairs ( no access for wheelchair users that i could see ) then it opens up before you and i was pleasantly surprised, nice and clean looking we were seated next to a window ( although the sill is quite high so you would have to stand to see out of it ), we chose the emperors banquet which at £22.50 per head wasnt too bad, ordered a couple of drinks and tucked in to the prawn crackers which were on the table, we only had to wait approx 5 mins for the meal to start being served, all through the meal we were served promptly and the food was plentiful, hot and tasty, BUT, at the end of the meal we were supposed to get ice cream and fruit and then coffee or tea but instead we got a small plate of fruit with a couple of slices of melon and some sliced oranges and that was it, no explanation, no offer of tea or coffee or ice cream, now this was clearly stated in the menu and was one of the reasons why we chose it as the cheaper options did not include ice cream or coffee, i probably should have said something at the time but the wife doesn't like a fuss, all in all it was a nice meal sadly let down by not getting what you think your'e going to get, because of this i would have to think twice about returning, small details matter !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    51
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4th bday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Had a family meal on a lunchtime. The place was extremely busy. Food was good and staff were really friendly and make a big fuss of the birthday girl.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vsanderson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have been coming to this restaurant for years and can honestly say that it is the best chinese in the area. The food is always lovely and the staff, very attentive. The lunch time specials are great value for money and are the same size portions that you would get if dining on an evening, great selection of dishes too. Great place for a family meal or a special occaision. We had my Grans 80th Birthday meal there, dropped the balloons off during the day and the table was all set up for us arriving in the evening. The food is always excellent. The only negative point about this restaurant is the access, there is no disabled access and the stairs to the restaurant are very steep making it hard for older people. On the whole this is one of my favorite restarants. Enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vodkamonster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place has changed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I was a regular visitor to this restaurant but I will not be visiting again. They are cutting back on the service and the food. I always order chips instead of rice and never had a problem before, but was told I would have to have rice and if I wanted chips then id have to pay extra for them. So I did and the rice was wasted as I cant eat rice. Then we ordered our dessert only to be told we couldn't have a scoop of ice cream with the banana fritter(which we always got before with no problem) I know this place is very reasonable for the lunch special so why not put your prices up a little instead of alienating your customers

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johntoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Down and dirty!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Me and my wife had lunchtime special. The place is dirty, cutlery is dirty and the food is not fresh. Charged for desert implied to be part of special. We will not be back. We were planning to go to Landmark in Newcastle but opted for here....big mistake! They are leagues apart.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Imperial Restaurant also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Sunniside, Gateshead
 

Been to The Imperial Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing