We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best by far!!”

The Imperial Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 266 Restaurants in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best by far!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Me & my husband pre-booked as we had read the reviews advising this on arrival we were greeted immediately & offered a choice of tables which I thought was really nice we chose to sit at the back which was nice & secluded the restaurant is decorated very well & very clean no sign of dust anywhere we were offered drinks straight away & prawn crackers were on the table which were filled all the time as soon as the waiters noticed they were running low,we ordered a set meal & made a few changes which was not a problem or extra cost which some restaurants we have been to have charged for!! When the food came out it was piping hot plenty of it & absolutely beautiful we have ate in a lot of Chinese restaurants & I have to say both my husband & I have to agree this is the best.
The food the service the surroundings every thing about this place is a winner we will definitely be returning here in the very near future & telling all our friends & family about this little hidden gem.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank debbiemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    55
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“FAB”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very friendly staff who show you to your table and are there to serve drinks etc. in a very nice manner and nothing is to much bother. From starters to apperitifs, main meals and sweets, food was large portions cooked to perfection and very very tasty. Not just the best in Gateshead but the best in the North East.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florence1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

food delicious, very generous portions, lovely atmosphere, no rushing you, friendly staff who leave you to enjoy your meal in peace but are there in a flash if you need anything, value for money, clean modern, clean toilets. try it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiesmam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take away”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We ordered a take away which was ready on arrival to collect, warm and very well presented. The tasting test proved to be................successful. Delicious meal. Thanks

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese Restaurants”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very busy restaurant and advisable to pre-book.
From the front street in Low Fell the entrance is a small doorway and deceiving.
The restaurant is upstairs and surprisingly quite large.
I found the restaurant to be very busy but I was promptly seated and my order was taken quickly.
The food was excellent and fresh ( King Prawns and vegetables )
I can recommend this place , it is above average for a Chinese and I will certainly return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Imperial Restaurant also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Imperial Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing