We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Cheap, Cheerful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maiden Motel

The Maiden Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maiden Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Gateshead B&B and Inns
1 review
“Clean, Cheap, Cheerful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Few of us stayed here on stag party, got a great price so didn't expect much, it was nice and clean, plenty of space and a great tv better than mine at home

Nice bar downstairs which is always a bonus,
Would stay again thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesjohndavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    14
See reviews for
5
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

After reading previous reviews I was apprehensive about staying here , however it was cheap and basic but clean with helpful friendly staff !
The pub was in a excellent position for travelling into Newcastle however we didn't pay expensive prices for staying so close to a city centre ,the owner of the motel also gave us discount vouchers on any taxis used

The Sunday lunch was one of the most delicious I've ever tasted and would stay here again just to try that a second time ,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03021987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Me and my 2 Friends Stayed here last week
We were expecting something basic for the price we paid

But we're very surprised - the rooms were nice and clean, Staff very nice and helpful

Will definitely return here on our next stay to north east

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincolnjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

What a dump,uninviting entrance round the back,door is left unlocked 24/7,room was big but looked well used, if you know what i mean,no towels/bathmats,NO SHOWER!!!!, just a bath,very shabby. No coffee/tea making facilities,just a kettle,MASSIVE telly??. I am a workman,but there are limits and this place is it.I paid before seeing the room,big mistake,couldn't get a refund, they don't have a cancellation policy?. I didn't stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69JCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

booked this as was going to see concert at Stadium of Light and near metro. Called me afternoon of our stay to say they had overbooked and no room for us !!!! Have you tried booking a hotel in gateshead when Bruce Springsteen is on , we booked several months before so am disgusted at the treatment. We were given another place to stay by the landlord of this place which we were told was fine but when we got there it was a run down pub in a grotty area.
we spent 3 hours trying to find a place to stay and ended up near whitley bay, completely wrecked our plans and we only just got to concert in time, no time to eat etc etc
Avoid this place at all costs

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emelda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Got what we paid for. The rooms were clean and tidy and the staff were friendly enough. If its just somewhere to rest your head for the night then it should suit.
If you want the ritz then pay for it.

Quite well located and easy access to Newcastle

Can't complain at all

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robo1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed here recently and boy, what a huge mistake.
The place was really awful and I was horrified. The scruffy entrance door was left wide open, didn't even lock and then there was the dark unsafe stair case upto the rooms. Not a single light around the entrance or on the stair case, let alone in the car park.
The room had a comfy enough bed, although not convinced bedding had even been changed, judging by the fresh tabacco I discovered within... That said the towels were clean-ish.
The en suite was really filthy, toilet and everything else had not been cleaned, had to do this myself for hygiene's sake.
The room had a kettle with no cups or tea/coffee let alone a mug or milk.
There was all kind on the carpet, bits of brick and clips and glass and general muck, had never had a hoover and was disgusting.
Totally horrendous and no heating on either, despite requesting, they turned it off again after a few hours
Really only suitable for rough and ready tough workmen who just need a bed for the night.
only lasted one night and was so unhappy and didn't feel at all safe so had to check out.
The Staff were quite pleasant although the standards were shocking. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Book someplace else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bridie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gateshead hotels
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
2.2 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
1.3 mi away
Sutherlands Boutique Hotel
Sutherlands Boutique Hotel
#6 of 10 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
1.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maiden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maiden Motel

Property: The Maiden Motel
Address: Low Heworth Lane, Gateshead NE10 0YJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gateshead
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing