We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor”
Review of Ravensdene Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ravensdene Lodge
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Reviewed 12 June 2013

if ur wanting a nite in Newcastle, 1st don't stay here has its out in the stix. it costs between £10/£12 per single journey to the city centre. the rooms are dated and basic, with limited bedding, 1 single sheet n throws on camp beds. . and we woke up to no electricity to the room, poor quality breakfast, yoghurts,toast/ceral (no cooked breakfast) ., also you have to sit in the bar area on sofas to eat it./no dining area, has it was reserved for a wedding party to have cooked breakfast. staff are jack of all trades, 1 min ther serving food, nxt reception, nxt bar staff, but the young staff did try there best even tho they had lots to do. poor services, we waited 45mins for food. very dinjy in bar area with broken/worn chairs/sofas. toilets in bar area wernt right clean, so we used our room toilet. every person has to pay £50 bond, 1 key per room even if theres 3/4 people. heating on full wack in day but off and freezing at nite . only thing good I would say is the bar alcohol prices n bar meals that's if you ever get ur meal. . this is a very noisy hotel, paper thin walls.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I believe that you have booked using a third party hotel booking agency. Firstly there is a thermostat in your room to control the level of heat and spare bedding in the wardrobe, had this not been suffice then the receptionist could have brought you extra. I can recall that there was in actual fact electricity in your room, as the lights were on but there was a short on the power points which was rectified immediatley.
Due to you booking a package deal with a third party booking agency they had only booked and paid for a basic continental breakfast. Should you have wished to upgraded this and paid the additional cost of a Full English we could have done this.
Our lounge area has a raised area as it is open plan where meals are served, many people choose to sit on the main lounge floor area on sofas. We are undergoing a refurbishment plan at the moment and shall be due for completion in the Autumn.
There were no complaints made by your group on departure. I would recommend you book directly with the hotel so you can get the best value for money. We hope that this does not deter you from future visits to The Ravensdene Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I came to stay in May 2013 with a group of friends, I was given a room downstairs that had not been updated as the upstairs rooms have been a felt that a difference in the quality of the rooms should be made clear. The two beds in the room were appauling one was a camp bed and the other a standard single bed which was bent in the middle, both of these beds had a thin sheet and a throw that would not look out of place in a potrait of Henry the 8th. further more there was rubbish on the floor and the throws had dirty marks on them, upon informing the staff member about the rubbish and dirt the response we recived was 'oh right' and nothing more was done about this. If it is a good nights sleep you are waiting this is not the place to go as i was woken a 5am by fellow guests banging on all the bedroom doors and running away, as you can imagine this was not the stay i was hoping for. The only redeminig feature of the hotel is the excellent sunday carvery which is great value and fresh quality food, it is just a shame that the rest of the hotel does not reflect this standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Amy
Thank you for your review. We are still undergoing refurbishment in the hotel and the rooms you were staying in obviously have not been complete yet. I believe that you have made your booking with a third party hotel travel agency, and we shall address this, as they are not stating to the customer the room type they have allocated. We have several price tiers to reflect the room type guests can stay in.
I can assure you that we do not use "camp beds" and that they are Single Beds, and that we do use an external linen company who supply us with fresh laundered linen daily.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us, however I would recommend you book directly with the hotel and request the newly refurbished rooms. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Came here for my stag doo 29/3/2013 i must say it was brilliant the staff were very helpful and polite, the rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfortable.The food was out of this world it was the best steak ive had!!! the bar is open until 4am what more could you ask for made my weekend very enjoyable thanks guys we will be back

craig (wirral)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Craig

Thank you for your review and comments. There is a new team in the kitchen now and we are changing menus. I have passed on your comments to the kitchen. Hope to see you again soon. Regards From all of us here at The Ravensdene Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

we have been going to the resturant for a while now for our sunday lunch and the customer service here diabolical, great food but every week without fail they would make us feel unwanted and patronised. The staff would never acknowledge us with a friendly smile just a simple grunt! we would order our drinks they would not be brought over we would have to go over and get them ourselves had to ask for our food tickets everytime we went, it was amazing how we seen with some of the guests they remembered them and were lovely and chatty with them but with us that never happened and we would consider ourselves to be very approchable nice people. We will never be returning to this resturant again and hope people bear this in mind when they go! the resturant appearence is also very scruffy and dated so i would not even like to imagine what the rest of the hotel is like!!!!

Room Tip: Would not recommend anyone to go here not even my worst enemy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte01207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Charlotte

After our conversations earlier this year, please note that we have changed our Sunday Carvery Service and have a new Team Leader.
I am awfully sorry that you have felt that the Ravensdene Lodge Hotel has let you down in the past and I am disappointed to hear this. AS previously suggested I would like you to book a table in the Conservatory it does have a nicer ambience than the lounge bar area. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Well a lot to be looked at place is a shambles! Food outstanding shame was like sitting in a school canteen!! Tables scattered all over bar area!! Staff here there and everywhere. No customer service at all!! Very run down and disapointed! Won't be back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

In response to the review dated 11th March 2013

Thank you for your review. I am dissapointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your experience here at The Ravensdene Lodge Hotel.
I can however state the following:
We are exceptionally busy on Sundays for the Carvery which is priced at £7.95 for Starter and Main Course, and we use the whole conservatory and bar area for service.
We served over 180 people on Mothers Day and did not have any negative feedback from the diners. There was one technical issue in the cellar which did slow down bar service however it was rectified within an hour by Emergency Tech Services.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment over the next 12 months.
I can apologise that you were not happy with the service you received and hope that this does not deter you from future visits. If you are to book in for Sunday Lunch then please request a table in The Conservatory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Myself and another 9 guys from Aberdeen stayed here in Feb for a stag do.
I would have to say for the minimal price we paid to stay here I thought the rooms were pretty good, not that we seen much of them. Flat screen tvs and all the usual extras you should expect for twice the price or more. You need to pay a 50 quid bond per person which you get back if your room is how you found it when you checked in...... All the staff who work here are amazing and probably have to put up with quite a lot of stuff they shouldn't! The important lady question.... Yes the supply towels in your room. The breakfast is eat all you can cooked by "Gordon Ramsey " who cooks your eggs how you like them with your Stella. The 24 hour bar is an added bonus for a nightcap or hair of the dog. All in all what more could you ask for? Thanks guys for looking after us!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J9bor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

In response to the review dated 1.3.13

Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate all the positive feedback, it really does help boost staff morale!
We are undergoing refurbishment this year and do hope to see you all again!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

would like to say the stay would of been bad if it wasn't for the food and the night porter called Craig, he was the most polite and well dressed person in hotel, you should make him manager and then the hotel would get better. ps have you got gorden Ramsey working in your kitchen cos the food was out standing.we will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweety99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravensdene, Manager at Ravensdene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

In response to the review 9.1.13

Thank you for your review.
We value all members of staff and they are one of the core reasons to our success here at The Ravensdene Lodge Hotel.
We are undergoing a refurbishment programme here at the hotel and do hope you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
1.6 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Gateshead
Travelodge Gateshead
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
444 reviews
2 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
502 reviews
2.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensdene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensdene Lodge

Address: 55 Consett Road | Lobley Hill, Gateshead NE11 0AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravensdene Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ravensdene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensdene Hotel Gateshead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing