We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is excellent if visiting the Sage, as we were...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    551
    284
    97
    52
See reviews for
124
579
61
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Located just across the road from the Sage carpark and a short stroll from the Baltic and Millenium bridge (reception staff were happy to give directions and had map hand-outs of the city centre).Our room was large, clean and every thing looked brand new. The decor is very sparce and minimal which might not be to all tastes but I felt was done pretty well. The wet room style bathroom had loads of shelf space but the lighting could be brighter. We didn't try the food or the gym. We paid under £50 which we thought was great value considering the location and room quality and we'd definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for the comments Amanda, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here has I was attending an event at the sage, the hotel was very modern and clean, the room was reasonable size but didn't have a wardrobe which I thought was a bit odd, it did have a couple of bars sticking out of the wall with coat hangers on it, overall a good value for money hotel in a convenient location.

Room Tip: Good location if your visiting the sage or the quayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for the review Andrew. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found us to be conveniently located for the Sage.

See you again soon

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend booked to stay in this hotel for 3 nights in December (19th-22nd) for a short break before Christmas. We got the 'winter deal' which was around £120 for the room only, no breakfast. We arrived at Newcastle train station and armed with a map it took us approximately 20 minutes to walk to the hotel. We had no bother finding it. The location is good; we frequently went to the nearby Tesco Extra down the road, which has a cafe inside it. There is also plenty shops, places to eat and a cinema nearby. We also managed to get a bus nearby straight to the metrocentre. So definitely a good place to stay if you're planning to go there.

We checked into the hotel at around 6 o'clock. We were given 2 room cards and the reception staff we very friendly. The hotel does have a private car park which has an additional cost I believe, but as we did not have a car this was not an issue for us.

Our room was on the second floor, so easily accessible by the elevator. In order to get power to your room, you have to use the key card. So there was a bit of fumbling around in the darkness to try find the slot on the wall at first. No issues with it after that however.

The room itself was excellent. So much space to move around, unlike most hotel rooms where you are cramped into a square room with a bed. The room had a sizable television equipped with lots of channels. The bed was massive; two single beds joined together to create a kingsized bed. The room also has a hairdryer in the drawer, a kettle with coffee making facilities and a phone, to call down to reception or to make outside calls for an additional charge. There is also a sofa which I believe pulls out into an additional sofa bed, but as there were only 2 of us we never used this.

The bathroom was lovely, all very clean and shiny. Only slight issue we had was flooding of the floor due to the design of the bathroom. Plenty of extra toilet paper, shower gel, handwash, tissues and body wash are all provided.

We did most of our eating outside of the hotel, minus one evening when we decided to have dinner in the hotel. We decided to order a pizza to share + chips. Slightly disappointed with the quality we received, especially for the price. We received a 12" pizza and a small bowl of chips, which was like something you could buy from iceland for £2. Our bill was £20 in total for our food and drinks.

The hotel also has a gym and a bar, but as we never used any of these we cannot comment.

We didn't have too much bother with noise. There was a few voices at the small hours of the morning, but we expected this due to the sheer size of the hotel.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and all the staff were lovely. The room was excellent and we would definitely come back again. We just wouldn't eat in the hotel restaurant again.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Michaela

Thanks for the detailed review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments regarding the pizza to our Chef.

See you again soon

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. It was great value at £48 and from the outset the staff were friendly and polite. The room was very clean and had free wifi too. The car park was £5 for 24 hours and was secure and large. When we come back to Newcastle again, if we can get the room for the same price we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Martin_Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review Martin. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

See you again soon

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

Property: Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Address: Hawks Road, Gateshead NE8 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing