We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“could have been better”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice staff looks good But room light not working' had to ask for kettle, breakfast just about OK. We went on a room and evening meal deal yet we could not use the main menu so we was offered a 2nd class meal. The hotel should have made this Clear a let down. But the staff are nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Wendy

Thanks for the review. I'm really glad you found the team to be friendly but sorry to hear about the points you mention. The package I believe you stayed on usually gets very positive comments relating to quality and value so I'm sorry that this wasn't the case for yourself.

I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    551
    284
    97
    52
See reviews for
124
579
61
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Part of a stag do for guys 30-40 years old. When I arrived at around 8pm on Friday night after work it was heaving, lots of stag/hen groups. Fine for me as we were going for that kind of thing, if I was with my family would probably turn straight back out again. Check in efficient and friendly, taxis turn up very quickly to hotel as they have a relationship with one particular company so you can get around the centre quickly, you are also near the millenium bridge if you want to walk across. We were getting back to the hotel at around 3am both nights and it was still really noisy in the hotel bar. As for the rooms I was a bit disappointed, the sofa bed is awful, although I did not sleep on it others did and struggled, hard to get any air in as window barely opens, the shower is badly designed as others have commented on so water goes everywhere, would look for a different hotel if in area again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 27steve118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend but apologise that your stay wasn't totally perfect. Your comments are much appreciated and I hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay with my fiance and 19 month old daughter! We booked a family room this consisted of a small double bed and flip out sofa! The flip out sofa was horrendous every spring in the very thin mattress could be felt! I kneeled on it to open curtains and felt as though i had broken my knee! Shower also not very good as wet room and whole floor gets soaked! Will defo not be returning will stick to the comfort of a premier inn

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thanks for the review. I'm sorry to hear the feedback on your stay. My sincere apologies that your stay was any less than satisfactory. Please feel free to contact me directly on dgm@encorenewcastlegateshead.co.uk and we can discuss further.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I stayed one night, Sunday 30 March 2014. We had a Living Social voucher which included room, 2 course dinner and free parking. Check in was 2.00 pm. The receptionist was very pleasant, and apologised because our room wasn't ready. We had to wait until 2.30 pm. An offer of a cup of coffee or tea whilst we were waiting would have been a nice gesture. The room was spacious but instead of carpet the flooring was laminate, and as the bed was on castors it was not a good combination. As we sat in bed reading the bed gradually crept away from the headboard. Dinner was good with a decent choice. Breakfast was buffet style with choice of full or continental and was very good. All in all for what we paid we got a bargain. I have checked the hotel's normal rates and even they are very reasonable. Other than the half hour wait for our room I couldn't fault this hotel, and considering how near to the centre of Newcastle it is, it is very reasonably priced. Would I stay there again? Probably.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hi John

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but apologise for the delay on checkin.

See you again soon

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very good hotel in a good location even although it was in Gateshead and we were visiting Newcastle. It was very near the Millennium pedestrian bridge and you could get over to the other side very easily and there were plenty of restaurants around. Staff very helpful and pleasant, Rooms very nice with large comfortable bed. First time we have been in a hotel room with wooden floors but thought it was an excellent idea for a hotel room. Power of water in the shower not great but was adequate. Could possibly have done with a couple of drawers for your clothes also. Would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to be on a floor away from the hen and stag party goers. We were on 5th floor which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hi Liz

Thanks very much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A very good Business Hotel which includes descent food and a good gym.
The rooms are comfortable but can get cold in the winter.
The Staff make the Hotel and all are very well trained even when it is extremely busy.
Wi-Fi is very frustrating and is off for 50% of the time. This needs urgent attention or this will put people off.

I also hired a meeting room and the staff could not be better with nothing too much trouble. However we needed the Wi-Fi for the meeting and it did disrupt us a little. This could be more serious in future and put regular business users off. Should there be a separate Wi-Fi for the meeting rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hi Mike

Thanks very much for the review and the positive comments, they are much appreciated.

For your information we are currently investigating alternative internet providers to make improvements on the current offering.

Thanks again. See you soon.

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

Property: Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Address: Hawks Road, Gateshead NE8 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing