We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - so-so Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location - so-so Internet”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived at midnight after a 6 hour drive and given a room at the end of endless corridors. Open the room to find empty crisp packets, used towels and and unmade bed.

Traipse down to reception again and after a 20 minutes wait finally given another room.

On a more positive note, the hotel is quite nice with good sized rooms and both wired and wireless internet. The connection is quite stable but the bandwidth is terrible. OK for doing a few simple emails etc but if you want to download any attachments, or worse still, send any attachments, you are in for a long wait. It seems a shame they want to charge for parking as the hotel there seems to be plenty of parking.

The bathrooms have a wet room which I normally like except in my room the water dribbled out of the shower head.

Would I stay again? Maybe at the right price but there are lots of other hotels in the area which might be better.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not too far away from the lifts otherwise you'll never find your way out agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alok-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi

Many thanks for the review. My sincere apologies that you were checked in to a dirty room. I will discuss this with our Housekeeping team to ensure this doesn't happen again. I am however pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and would stay with us again. On your next visit I would recommend booking via our brand website at www.ramada.co.uk as we have a very reasonable rate available on there which includes parking as part of the price.

Please let me know if I can be of any more assistance.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    551
    284
    97
    52
See reviews for
124
579
61
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at the Ramada Encore Newcastle Gateshead for 1 evening for a boys night out. The hotel is situated in an excellent spot not far from the main night life and local amenities and around a 15 minute journey to the airport which costs around £19 each way.

The room is pleasant and had a big double bed (probably 2 single beds made into 1). No bath and only a walk in shower but was happy with that. Asked for an iron which was brought up.

The bar is pleasant and the breakfast in the morning was a buffet with a decent selection.

Its probably not for a romantic night or weekend away with your missus as I didn't see one couple but if your away with the lads and want a reasonable hotel than this one is pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side as the front side can be a bit busy with the noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Dan

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found us to be conveniently located for all that Newcastle has to offer.

See you again soon.

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited in May for a Wedding at the Baltic. Very easy to get to, parking on site (£5), very efficient and friendly staff. Great bar in the hotel with good prices. Room was a good size, nice and clean, nice bed, good view of the city too. Thank you so much to the reception staff for putting us in a quiet part of the hotel. Despite the large numbers of hen and stag parties there from Scotland we slept soundly. We chose to have breakfast out rather than share in the dissection of the night before with our fellow guests and had a brilliant relaxing breakfast back at the Baltic which is 5 mins walk away. The reception were happy for us to leave our car there at no extra charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi

Thanks for the review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a peaceful rest in one of our lovely rooms. I hope the wedding went well and we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A very good hotel situated next to the millennium bridge. Rooms look like new, good size bathroom with walk in shower. Breakfast was good, but I had an evening meal that's was really good, and very reasonable priced. The only let down was my room was situated on the road side, a very busy road, if you stay ask for a inner court room.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the road side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi

Thanks very much for the great review. I'm so pleased that you found our standards to be high in all areas. I hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Newcastle.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On a 8 night trip around Scotland and England we chose this hotel for a 2 night stop as we were going to see a show in "The Sage".
Location very good and rooms although very basic were clean & bright and the bed was huge and very comfy. Staff were friendly. Cannot comment on breakfast as we did not partake.
Bar & restaurant was nicely finished in black/red and spacious.
We ate on our first night in bar and the food was very good and reasonably priced.
Location beside the Quays was handy with a frequent bus service into the centre of Newcastle.
Paying for parking is annoying but the system worked well. Would use this hotel again when next in Newcastle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilden73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi

Thanks very much for the review. Your comments are much appreciated. I am particularly glad that you liked the modern decor of the hotel and found our team to be friendly. For future stays we do have a very competitive rate available on ramada.co.uk which includes parking as part of the package.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

Property: Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Address: Hawks Road, Gateshead NE8 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotelopia, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing