We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Well situated ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed, we slept well although there is a bit of traffic noise, but except it is a city location.
We did not eat breakfast as we are late to stir, good to see they accept Tastecard:)
The reception staff are friendly and helpful.
Overall we were impressed and will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Mark

Thanks so much for the great scores and lovely comments. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    548
    274
    93
    52
See reviews for
122
566
58
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 2 nights. Parking is £5 a night and unless you're coming in after about 6 there will be plenty of parking. Reception are friendly, reward scheme gives you 10% off on food/drink. Good sized room but no iron, took 3 attempts to get an iron that worked to the room. Gym on ground floor. Breakfast is buffet style, all good. Dinner and light bite menu is good value and quality. No air con so rooms get hot (if hot outside), if windows open the main road outside can be busy. At £60 a night it's a relatively good budget hotel option with central location. Will stay here again (in the winter), for the summer I'll stick to Jury's round the corner if I'm staying in Gateshead again. Tip- Ask for a high floor facing the Tyne to stay away from the traffic noise and join the rewards club, 10% off food and a free bottle of water for the room and a ginger biscuit! Also, if you need anything, get it before you arrive, there are no shops/anything around the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank colin7629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Colin

Thanks for the review. I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are appreciated. My apologies that you had issues with broken irons and found the rooms hot. We have replacement irons and also fans if you require on future stays. For reference there is a large Tesco supermarket in Gateshead town centre which is a five to ten minute walk from the hotel and is really handy for any supplies you may need.

See you again soon

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July as part of the £20 deal. What a bargain! It’s a chain hotel, so it’s quite a standard layout, but much nicer than other chains, with free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and walk-in showers. There was nothing missing, unlike other chain hotels e.g. remote control and you didn’t have to go to reception to beg for extra items as they were already in the room e.g. extra pillow. The staff were really friendly and the hotel is in a great location near the Millennium Bridge. Parking costs £5 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sticky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review. Your great comments are very much appreciated.

See you again soon

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Came for 3 nights modern budget hotel convenient for the Sage centre, Millenium bridge. Rooms fairly basic, but adequate. There is a heater, but no air-con and this meant the room was hot and stuffy, so we opened the window, but the road outside is pretty busy so lot of noise which kept us awake. If only they'd fitted air-con.....

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iandwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you found the hotel to be modern and conveniently located. My apologies that you found the rooms hot and encountered road noise. On your next visit we will allocate a rear facing room which I'm sure you will find to be more suitable.

Best Regards

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

11 friends and I were just here for my Hen Do weekend (18-20July).. Upon checking in, they were fast and efficient, although I think the 'Damage deposit' is a bit hefty for large groups (£50 per room/person). The room is clean and tidy, but ridiculously hot! There is NO air con in this hotel, and there is a window which opens 2 inches, which is no good to anyone. There was 3 of us sharing which made the heat unbearable. We asked for a fan several times, got a bit a attitude from some reception staff, but as soon as the duty manager was asked for there seem to be a fan at our door within minutes, this helped greatly. Breakfast was beautiful and bed was comfy. Would return - maybe not over a hot wkend though!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzzi-mac1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair R, Manager at Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi

Thanks for the review. I hope the hen do was enjoyable and wish you all the best for the wedding. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but am sorry to hear that you found the rooms hot. I'm glad that the fan made a difference.

See you again soon

Alastair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
3.3 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead

Property: Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Address: Hawks Road, Gateshead NE8 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing