We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
9
18
14
10
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
18
14
10
38
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We forgot this was a bank holiday weekend and left it too late to book a hotel in Newcastle town centre, by the time we started to look everything was very expensive. So we expanded our search to Gateshead and found the Rowers. We saw the reviews and the photos, therefore didn't expect much, but it was a great price, comfy and a great breakfast. A tenner took you into town in a taxi, so book with an open mind, this hotel ticked all the basic boxes..

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Total dive! Needs knocked down and start again! I’m only allowed to add 10 pictures, but trust me, there are more!

Kettle was bogging, roof is bowed and has been badly patched by screwing a piece of wet wall panelling to it, radiator leaks and is covered in stains. The walls are wood panelling and have splash marks on them.
Tea/ coffee stains in the drawers - as you do!
Tv is covered in dust. Window sill is manky, curtains were last washed with the war! Kettle plug has a plaster on it, not sure why, but I’m not touching it. Floor creaks from ground floor, on the stairs, and the top floor.
My room is situated beside the fire exit, looking through the door I can see shampoo bottles lying on the floor and an old mop! Nothing is PAT tested, hair drier is bolted to the bathroom wall, but when you switch it on it doesn’t give any air at all, and the box on the wall just rattles like a screw has fallen inside it!

Utter dive, even for £45 per night! Avoid!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Vonnie_travels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Never judge a book by its cover! It may not look great in the pictures but for the money this is a very worthwhile place to stay. Room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice and staff friendly. Not the best location but only a £6 Uber ride from Newcastle centre.

Overall very impressed for the cost!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Reza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

It's not the ritz but what do you expect for £50? Rooms are a bit dated but bed was comfy enough. Bed linen and towels were clean. Some basic repairs would improve the overall appearance , a new lightshade and fixing the small missing panel on the bed end. Still a bit confused by the boat theme but had free parking, wifi , We slept well and we had a good breakfast. When you thinking going to a cafe for a fry , coffee and toast for 2 could easily end up £15 , means your bed for the night was £35 !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lmccar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is the type where you pay for what you get. Yes it is dated, but it is perfectly fine for a night or two. It is affordable and great if you are going to go to Newcastle or Metrocentre. There are plenty of local pubs around too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank James-Visits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews