We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea - don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea - don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

My idea of a traditional afternoon tea is china cups and saucers, cake stands, finger sandwiches (crusts off), bite sized scones, dainty cakes and pretty little dishes of butter curls, jam and cream. Not what you get at Newcastle Hilton which is mugs of tea/coffee, dry sandwiches (crusts on), huge scones, pre packed butter pats and a salad bowl size dish of jam to pass around the table and not a cake stand in sight!

For a hotel of this calibre I suppose at £9.95 it's cheap (£15.95 for the champagne tea) but afternoon tea is an indulgence and people pay for the experience as much as the food. This was an experience I would not choose to repeat. We were a large pre-booked party but the service was still poor when they should have been prepared for us. The tea and coffee arrived so early that it was cold before the food arrived. When the food came on numerous plates there was very little room on the table to accommodate it, so it was far from elegant. The champagne came late,some people had a strawberry in their glass but others didn't; attention to detail was sadly lacking. After the tea I went to the bar to buy a bottle of prosecco, it was handed to me unopened. At £33 a bottle I might have expected an ice bucket never mind the bottle to be opened for me, but that wasn't offered either.

We were there for a birthday celebration and still had a good time despite the poor show but will I go back? Not if I have anything to do with it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank golferDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    897
    453
    199
    108
See reviews for
346
1,110
94
708
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Amazing views of the River Tyne, perfect location for sightseeing in Newcastle. It was an excellent location for everything we did that weekend! I loved the breakfast, very spacious room. I can't stress enough how fantastic the location was, second to none in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river, but good luck, usually all sold out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My partner surprised me with an over night stay he had booked last minute. We were greeted by friendly staff who escorted us to our room. However in our room the air conditioning vent was leaking and as soon as we reported it they moved us to another room with a terrific view of the tyne! The room was immaculately clean and everything was fresh. We had a drink in the bar that we didn't find too expensive for a city! (£8 for a pint of lager and a small glass of wine) then we used the leisure facilities! We had a swim and time in the sauna and jacuzzi. It was lovely! Later that evening we went to a beautiful restaurant on the Quayside. The location saved us on taxi fares as we just walked! The next morning we had a coffee in the bar as we didn't have breakfast! Overall a wonderfull trip!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Facilities were good as expected of a big city Hilton Hotel. Room was clean and well maintained with good décor. Excellent views to the River Tyne and the Gateshead Quay.

Receptionist was not very enthusiastic about guests at check-in contrary to other reviewers’ experience. Upgraded to an Executive Plus room (as a Diamond HHonors member) on the 3rd floor with a view on the Tyne bridge. The hotel did not take any notice of my registered personal preference. Very disappointment with no slippers and no complimentary water in an Executive Plus room. I had to ask the house keeping twice for the slippers to be delivered.

If you are driving, the sign to the car park is not obvious, getting out of the car park is tricky, you need to get your ticket validated every time you go out. And I did have problem with my ticket when leaving although I had my ticket validated by the receptionist the night before assuring me my ticket will let me out after checking out. It didn’t. Fortunately there was a help button, and the reception was quite responsive in raising the barrier to let me out. There was a parking charge of £9 per night, £16 for two nights at the weekend.

As a first time visitor to this hotel, the receptionist should have explained more to the guests about the hotel’s facilities, breakfast time, dining room opening hours, gym and swimming pool facilities to guests and any additional facilities to the HHonours Gold and Diamond members. The receptionist was more interested in swiping your credit card.

The executive lounge facilities were quite poor comparing to other big city Hiltons such as Manchester and London. There was very limited space and the canapés were limited in terms of both quantity and choice. It was over-crowded on a Saturday, so gave up and went out into town for dinner instead.

For a category 6 Hilton, the service was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

We had a one night stay in a family room (for three adults) at the Hilton Newcastle. Our room was on the second floor, overlooking the front entrance of the hotel. We would've liked a view of the Tyne but were told that as we were in a family room this wasn't possible. However, the room was spacious with a nice bathroom with separate shower and bath. There was a double bed and also a double sofa bed.

Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate, but when we asked at check in we were given discounted vouchers which meant that breakfast was £10 per person. Breakfast was the usual hot and cold help yourself buffet, it was very nice and we had fabulous views.

We parked in the hotel car park which was £9 for 24hrs.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, as we walked over to the Quays for food and drinks.

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel and would stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed for two nights and paid £119 per night for twin room with breakfast and river view.

The view was very good, you could almost touch the Tyne bridge! however you couldnt open the balcony door/window which would have been nice.

The room was very clean and had the facilities you would expect. The breakfast was buffet and was really good quality. We didnt feel rushed out of the breakfast area and kept getting coffee refils without any problem. The view in the breakfast area is also very good.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short walk across the swing bridge or across the millenium bridge into the heart of Newcastle.

Late checkout time of 12 was also good. I wouldnt normally stay in large chain hotels like this but it was very comfortable and had everything I needed.

Word of warning if you take a car, it cost £16 to park for two days.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

A great stay at this very special Hilton. We got a balcony room overlooking the Tyne bridge. Food was lovely, every single staff member more than helpful.

Gym is compact and well used, the pool is perfectly adequate.

Great location, 10 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride to town.

Ideal location for both Newcastle and Gateshead

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing