We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Nearby Hotels
Beamish Park Hotel(Marley Hill)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravensdene Lodge(Gateshead)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Plough Inn(Gateshead)
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Durham House Hotel(Gateshead)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead(Gateshead)(Great Value!)
US$206
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,248)
Filter reviews
3,248 results
Traveller rating
1,338
1,042
508
225
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,338
1,042
508
225
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungetyne bridgethe riverswing bridgemini barafternoon teaa river view rooman upgradecity centrelovely hotelleisure facilitiescar parklovely roomweekend breakbars and restaurantsjeanettenewcastle
Filter
Updating list...
2,280 - 2,285 of 3,248 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We experienced very good customer service during our stay from both the main reception and particularly from Kath in the Executive Lounge. The room had a great view, large, clean and relatively quiet, as quiet as a large hotel can possibly be. The Hilton has all the facilities you could want, parking was easy and the hotel is in a great location.
Negative was the food and drink on offer in the Exec Lounge, we have been away for two years and the quality and choice of both the wine and food in the lounge seems to have really gone down over that period; perhaps its cost saving?

Room Tip: High floor for the stunning view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed here with a colleague in May, and had a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally situated by the river just a short walk over the bridge into Newcastle city centre. The rooms are spacious with a large TV and everything else you would expect from a Hilton.

The bar & restaurant are a little expensive but no more so than any other hotel. The buffet style breakfast is very good . There is a small pool which i imagine could feel overcrowded during busy periods but was quite when we were there, the sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi are the perfect way to relax after work and before beer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbobsquarepants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed six nights in this hotel; my primary reason for having selected it was its very convenient nearness to our congress venue, the fabulous Sage. Gateshead town centre with a huge Tesco is just five minutes walk. Check-in was smooth, the first impressions, however, a little disappointing: badly stained carpet on the first floor corridor, birds’ droppings on the window, chocolate wrapping under the bed (which I didn’t remove to see if and when they would notice – in six days they didn’t). The room was a good size, river view, bathroom OK with a tub and a shower. The jet in the shower was too weak for my liking. The A/C in the room was functioning, but it had a very weird controller, and the instructions didn’t help much, I had to ask for advice. I found it absurd that they charge for the Wifi in the room. However when I needed some help with a document from the internet the concierge was most helpful- I appreciated it! Breakfast was nice, even the continental breakfast had fruit juice, cheese, some cold cuts and excellent espresso coffee included. In the evening good salmon and prawn sandwiches and nice cold draft lager in the bar. If you have programs in the Sage the Hilton is a good choice.

Room Tip: River view for 10 pounds extra (on a stand-by basis when booking the room) is a good option
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robicsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel continues to impress time after time. I have been returning to this hotel on an almost monthly basis since it first opened and have enjoyed a warm welcome and customer service that is second to none. Whether it is a friendly welcome at reception, casual chat with the restaurant staff or a cheery exchange with the housekeeping team everyone aims to please and I always look forward to my next visit. Over the last three years I have been accompanied by my young son and mother and again the staff have been exceptional in making them feel welcome. Special mention must go to Jeanette who's personable, professional and 'can do' attitude is a treat for those fortunate enough to have use of the Executive Lounge.
The restaurant has always been of a good standard with something for everyone and the bar and room service menus also offer a good variety of dishes.
The hotel location is only a short walk from The Sage and a five minute taxi ride from the many shops, restaurants and nightlife.

Room Tip: Always ask for a front room where possible, the ever changing river view is a bonus. Top floor balcony rooms are great if you want some fresh air and a superb view up and down the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in July for an overnight on a Sunday. Check in was fast an efficient and the lobby is large and spacious with the most beautiful scent of fresh Lillies.

We stayed in a River View Executive which was clean, spacious and modern. The views across the River Tyne are wonderful. The only downfall was the pillows which were rock solid.... everything else about the bed was comfy tho!

We had access to the executive lounge which was fantastic and again had great views over the Tyne, again with the fresh scent of Lillies. The executive lounge provides beer/cava/wine and nibbles between 6-8pm and there was more than enough considering there was some sort of function on the mezzanine level and a wedding party coming in and out.

We ate in the Windows on the Tyne for Brekki and Dinner and again i really cant complain as everything was perfect.

The next morning we had some Spa treatments before breakfast, the treatments were fantastic.

Overall great trip to Newcastle and would visit the Hilton Gateshead again in a heartbeat :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadealexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews