We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but over rated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here last week on business and found the overall service very friendly, polite and efficient, food in the restaurant was tip top! The bedrooms are spacious with room to work and had a fab view of the bridges from my window. Carpets in the bedrooms had various stains on and cracked tiles on the floor in the bathroom. Some areas of the hotel are looking a bit shabby especially the swimming pool areas so for this reason I feel this hotel is over priced and can't rely on its name alone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnyalyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,938 - 1,944 of 3,075 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Room not ready on arrival after travelling almost 200 miles. Staff didn't seem interested, finally got into room 1 hour 15 mins later. When asked why delay, was told it's one of them things, people are reluctant to leave the room as valentines weekend! Check in at 3 o'clock so not exactly early. Paid £165 for a room described as spacious double deluxe, room small, couldn't swing a cat in it, No slippers/bathrobes/water in room as described. Lamp in room not working either. Didn't bother complaining as staff weren't bothered.
Then to top it off a lady collapsed in the restaurant at breakfast. It took 5 mins before a member of staff assisted, good job another guest went to the ladies aid. The staff kept the restaurant open while this went on and guests were walking passed as paramedics were treating the lady. Felt they should have closed the restaurant to give the lady a bit of dignity and privacy. I've emailed the hilton twice and not had a response, won't be staying at this hotel again. The hotel itself is lovely to look at and the view is amazing especially on a clear day. However the staffs attitude let them down!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We decided to stay two nights to includ valentines day, but we had to change rooms due to the presistant droning of the air-coditioning in the next room. the noise kept us awake all night and the night staff were not able to do anything about it because the room was ocupied. In the end we managed to sleep 'head to toe' so that our heads were away from the aprty wall. We had to repeat our compliant in the morning and demand another room before we got one. This was dissapointing because in every other respect the hotel was lovely and the food excellent.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trustingdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Hilton Gateshead for a valentines treat. As Hilton Honors Gold clients it was disappointing there was no room upgrade allocated to us but our room did have a lovely view. I requested feather pillows in advance but they weren't there and the pillows present were hard. The room lacked the robes expected (in the upgraded room). We also requested in advance a bottle of wine which was left on ice but forgot the wine glasses!
The room was spacious and clean but was a room with an interconnecting door which allowed us to hear our neighbours quite clearly!
The executive lounge was great the afternoon scones were welcome however it gets very busy on an evening with standing room only! Kath the stewardess was great, worked hard and was cheerful and kind.
We dined in the restaurant for the valentines package and the food was very good indeed.
We were woken at 4am by the room opposite blaring loud music so had to call reception who promptly sorted them out!
Breakfast was lovely and tasty.
A great hotel but needs attention finer detail .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lourhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A bit crazy that they place bottles of water in your room with a label saying £3.95 on each of them. Other than that, hilton was fantastic and very clean. Beds were really comfortable. I highly recommend the Spa services - massage was fantastic. As for value for money, I'd have to rate this an average to poor - the 'extras' do not justify the price. Would stay in a travel lodge or premier inn if business wasn't paying for it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a 5th floor room which are generally the best in the hotel. Though we did not get a view of the river we were were generally satisfied with the size of the room and the bed was large and comfortable. A few complaints are: that the Air Con was difficult to turn down to a level where it was not noisy: that the room backed onto the lift shaft and we could here the motor and the doors opening and closing: the walls are quite thin so you can get noises from adjacent rooms.
There was a good choice of foods at Breakfast though the kitchen staff seemed a bit over-busy which must have been the Southampton FC party which must have been eating in a private room. This discouraged us from asking for any specials that were not already displayed.

We like the position of this hotel and it is very hany for the Sage.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have great views. Beware noisy lifts. Best rooms are on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Myself and my partner stayed this recent valentines weekend at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, and did all they could to make us feel comfortable. Gym facilities were great, have no complaints at all. City centre is about an ten mins walk over the Tyne bridge, hotel itself is based in a quite area had no disturbances. The river view was lovely especially ts night time. The room was spacious and clean with all the necessary facilities in working order. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: £81 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing