We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a great place to stay when visiting Newcastle, close enough to the town centre to walk or get a taxi, but far enough away not to be too noisy at night.

Rooms were great, ask for 3rd or 4th floor rooms overlooking the river. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Four of us took a taxi into the centre of Newcastle at about 8.00 in the evening and it cost us £3.80 and we flagged down a black cab at 1.00 in the morning to take us back to the hotel and that cost us £5.40. Cheap by anyones standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulwath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    920
    462
    203
    114
See reviews for
355
1,137
100
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is on a very steep hill and is not suitable for over 50's or anybody impaired in anyway, unless you do not intend to leave the hotel.There are no restaurants or bars anywhere near this hotel(other than the hotels) and you have to walk over the bridges into Newcastle,fine going out but would be helpful to be a mountain goat coming back.Payed the lowest internet tariff available for four nights(£100per night including car park).. Had previously asked for a river view room, if available, but was told at reception that none were available as the hotel was completely full.Asked to see the room manageress who told me that there were rooms but i would have to pay £15 extra per night.Reception had told a complete lie. Agreed to pay the extra as the views from the back of the hotel are apalling..
Was given four different sets of keys before one fitted the door.The plug stuck fast in the sink and the television zapper would.nt change channels unless you where within three feet of it.
All in all very poor.
On the positive side they decided not to charge me for the supposed upgrade and I have to say the concierge went out of his way to help us. This hotel is nothng other than a glorified travel lodge..

Room Tip: River view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had dinner on Saturday night, booked a standard room for an over night stay but was upgraded to executive suite....fantastic. Room and the views from the room magnificent. Huge bed and two 50 inch tv's. Staff helpful and very friendly, but not too much so, very professional.

Room Tip: Ask for a tyne view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLASHPIANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaglescliffe
Level Contributor
273 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel has a great position overlooking the river and Newcastle, we had a river room and enjoyed some great night lights and a good sunrise.
Rooms are excellent as are the staff. The hotel is not true town centre but the short walk is interesting.

Room Tip: River view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel again provided a great location for a visit to the city of Newcastle and the Northumbria University, as well as the quayside area by the Tyne.

I managed to get some great photos from the hotel balcony and then down by the river.

The rooms are very comfortable, and a visit to the exec lounge is of course always welcome before heading for dinner at the Quayside (Gusto - see separate review) and of course some more photos at night. Incidentally see tycariadus.com for pics.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tycariadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We booked one night in an executive river view room to celebrate my birthday. Everything was really great, the hotel staff all were lovely and the hotel lived up to the usual high Hilton reputation. We enjoyed afternoon tea and an extensive continental breakfast in a very peaceful Executive lounge which had beautiful views, as did the room and restaurant. I had informed the hotel it was my birthday and would like a table in the window for dinner and we then had a delicious meal. I had a lovely surprise when I got presented with a free dessert with edible flowers, fruit, chocolate etc for my birthday. Service was impeccable and I highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank margles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This modern hotel is located on the south side of the river, by the Tyne Bridge.

The lobby/bar area is very spacious with huge picture windows and dramatic river views.

My room was comfortable, modern, and quite stylish, with similarly excellent picture window views of the river. The bathroom was similarly stylish, though it could do with a light by/above the mirror.

The most expensive rooms (which I didn't stay in myself, though others in the party did) come with free access to a very good executive lounge, serving free breakfast and early eve drinks/nibbles, again with excellent riverside views.

The hotel restaurant was very expensive (London prices) so we didn't have dinner there, there being much better and less expensive places to eat within walking distance (e.g. on Quayside).

The main downside was corner-cutting and petty surcharging on various aspects of the hotel. Wi-fi in your room cost £14.95 per day - ridiculous! No food in the mini-bar (they usually contain snacks & chocolate), white wine but no red, nor biscuits to go with tea/coffee. Even a B&B would provide the latter.

There was no flannel in the bathroom. The aircon display was damaged, so adjusting it was a matter of guesswork. The information provided in the room was inadequate, for example about check-out times and wi-fi; there was no alphabetical list of available services as is normal.

To get breakfast, there was a strange system of pre-buying vouchers, otherwise you'd have to pay extra for showing up unbooked; clearly designed for the convenience of the hotel, not the guests.

At breakfast, service was poor. On both days, no-one offered me tea or coffee, or cleared our plates, even though the place was quiet, and these are the main functions of waiting staff at breakfast. To get anything done we had to get up and go and try to find a waiter. When we had too many used plates we resorted to clearing our own table onto an empty one next door! The croissants were stale - we discovered that fresh ones had been put at the back, presumably to use up old stale ones first.

At one point we tried phoning hotel reception from elsewhere, but no-one picked up the phone.

So all told, a great building and location, but rather too much corner-cutting.

Room Tip: Request a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,196 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing