We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel great staff”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great position -just a short walk to bars restaurants near quay side area.
Hotel is modern ,smart ,clean and run by excellent staff.
Bedrooms good with great beds bathrooms good except for shower curtains!,
If you are a Hhonors member executive lounge very good with brilliant staff.

Room Tip: Executive rooms worth while upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40yearsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear 40yearsoftravel

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, however will share your comments regarding the shower curtain with our Head Housekeeper in order for her to share with her team.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    933
    471
    206
    116
See reviews for
369
1,155
102
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hilton hotel was great. Our room had a fantastic view over the river. The room was looking a little tired and could do with a make over otherwise the views and access to the lounge made a huge difference. The staff in the lounge were so friendly and welcoming Katie McStea and her mam Cathy were to us WHY we choose Newcastle for our meet up .. Very professional ,friendly, nothing was too much trouble , easy to chat to with lots of useful information to help us have a successful visit to the toon! Love it we will be bk thank you

Room Tip: Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valdaree_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valdaree_12

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, however understand your comments regarding your bedroom. We do have a current ongoing refurbishment programme in place to address issues such as this.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here while travelling up to Scotland.

The hotel is close to the city centre and we found the room to be excellent - spacious, clean and an amazing view overlooking the river.

WiFi was excellent and the breakfast buffet was really impressive. The concierge was really helpful and overall the staff were great.

Highly recommend this hotel and we will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sydney1973

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially our superb Hilton breakfast and our Concierge team.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I found this hotel to havevery comfortable beds-clean - free upgrade to river view - excellent breakfast -good value and very helpful staff will definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally_Bennett, Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Jane I

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Bennett
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This Hilton has spacious rooms, is lovely and quiet, and has a wonderful spa in the basement. Breakfast is taken in the restaurant overlooking the river Tyne and the various iconic bridges. The hot full english buffet is reasonably varied and got better with the arrival of the haggis! The scrambled eggs were somewhat gray and I'd no way recommend the porridge. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and I was able to book in for a short hot stone aromatic massage in the spa, at short notice, which was utterly amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairilawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Mhairilawson

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with us following your recent stay at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We were pleased to learn you enjoyed the majority of your breakfast experience, however obviously disappointed that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations, please accept our sincere apologies for this. Your points regarding the scrambled eggs and porridge will be shared with our Executive Head Chef in order for him to share with his team.

We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hilton Gateshead is my preferred choice for business trips to Newcastle: very good hotel and rooms, excellent breakfast and great view on the river.
Very professional and nice staff, especially if you are Hilton HHonors member.
The position is perfect for easily reaching the city center by walking.
You can save some money by checking the offers online and by paying in advance.
I do suggest this hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Elisabetta S

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and will certainly share your feedback with the entire team.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for a friend's hen doo and this hotel was perfect for us! We arrived early and the reception staff checked us in, gave us our room number and then told us to go off and explore and the luggage would all be in our room when we got back - and it was! We were all allocated rooms on the same corridor and seated in the VIP section for breakfast :0). The room had fabulous views of the Quayside and the Tyne Bridge and was spotlessly clean. I would definiately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally_Bennett, Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Lisa

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and my team looked after you.

I hope your friend has a lovely wedding day and all goes well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sally Bennett
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing