We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent hotel staff very friendly
location and views truly amazing
Air con a little noisy but room to warm to leave it off
Lovely hotel
Food good and drinks reasonable and tasty would stay again and tell friends

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally_Bennett, Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Julie K

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time at the hotel. We were obviously disappointed to learn that air conditioning was a little noise but glad it did not detract from the rest of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Hilton Newcastle in the near future.

Kind regards
Sally Bennett
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 3,076 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for one night on this occasion although we have stayed at the Hilton Gateshead before.
It is a large hotel with impressive views of the city and Tyne bridge. We were given a room overlooking the bridge and river , it was spacious and clean with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The staff in the restaurant and bar are friendly and helpful.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Newcastle who didn't want to be right in the centre but it's about a ten minute walk to grey street which is pleasant as you cross the bridge.
Particular thanks to Adam on reception for making our stay so enjoyable ( a credit to the Hilton group) we will definitely be back to enjoy this great city again.

Room Tip: High room river view if you can !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear sheppy01

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, we do pride ourselves on our service and will, of course, share your very kind comments regarding Adam with him and the team.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back once again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great position -just a short walk to bars restaurants near quay side area.
Hotel is modern ,smart ,clean and run by excellent staff.
Bedrooms good with great beds bathrooms good except for shower curtains!,
If you are a Hhonors member executive lounge very good with brilliant staff.

Room Tip: Executive rooms worth while upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40yearsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear 40yearsoftravel

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, however will share your comments regarding the shower curtain with our Head Housekeeper in order for her to share with her team.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hilton hotel was great. Our room had a fantastic view over the river. The room was looking a little tired and could do with a make over otherwise the views and access to the lounge made a huge difference. The staff in the lounge were so friendly and welcoming Katie McStea and her mam Cathy were to us WHY we choose Newcastle for our meet up .. Very professional ,friendly, nothing was too much trouble , easy to chat to with lots of useful information to help us have a successful visit to the toon! Love it we will be bk thank you

Room Tip: Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valdaree_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Valdaree_12

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, however understand your comments regarding your bedroom. We do have a current ongoing refurbishment programme in place to address issues such as this.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here while travelling up to Scotland.

The hotel is close to the city centre and we found the room to be excellent - spacious, clean and an amazing view overlooking the river.

WiFi was excellent and the breakfast buffet was really impressive. The concierge was really helpful and overall the staff were great.

Highly recommend this hotel and we will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Sydney1973

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially our superb Hilton breakfast and our Concierge team.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I found this hotel to havevery comfortable beds-clean - free upgrade to river view - excellent breakfast -good value and very helpful staff will definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally_Bennett, Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Jane I

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Bennett
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This Hilton has spacious rooms, is lovely and quiet, and has a wonderful spa in the basement. Breakfast is taken in the restaurant overlooking the river Tyne and the various iconic bridges. The hot full english buffet is reasonably varied and got better with the arrival of the haggis! The scrambled eggs were somewhat gray and I'd no way recommend the porridge. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and I was able to book in for a short hot stone aromatic massage in the spa, at short notice, which was utterly amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhairilawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Mhairilawson

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with us following your recent stay at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We were pleased to learn you enjoyed the majority of your breakfast experience, however obviously disappointed that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations, please accept our sincere apologies for this. Your points regarding the scrambled eggs and porridge will be shared with our Executive Head Chef in order for him to share with his team.

We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range: £80 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing