We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view over Tyne in a comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great view over Tyne in a comfortable room”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the Tyne as this hotels setting is perfect for a night time view to kill for.Food and Service is exactly what you expect from this chain and can't fault the overall experience .

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew6287, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here with us at Hilton Newcastle.
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback and I shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kindest regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    933
    471
    206
    116
See reviews for
369
1,155
102
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was a little apprehensive in staying at this hotel due to some lets say not so kind reviews I had read on here, but I shouldn't have worried. When you walk into the Hilton Newcastle Gateshead you are met with a gorgeous and modern lobby area, and then that amazing view. Our room was lovely and big with a fabulous view of the Tyne Bridge (the same view as the lobby!), a nice bathroom, and most importantly a plug socket next to a full length mirror! The food is gorgeous and well worth the dinner offer we had just as good as a fancy restaurant, and breakfast was good too. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the riverside have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winniethepoohtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew6287, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay here with us at Hilton Newcastle.
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback about the hotel and I shall look forward to welcoming you back in the near future .

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Our trip to newcastle was spoiled by this hotel. The room was different to what we booked, we put that down to the fact they were very busy so not a problem. However after visiting newcastle we returned to our room and pulled the duvet back to be greeted by a large blood stain on the bed sheets. We spoke to the reception desk who changed the sheet straight away. However the next morning the manager was not interested at all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew6287, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Ashtra

I am very sorry to hear about the problems you encoutered on your recent stay , Please rest assured we take your comments very seriously , They have been investigated .

I do hope to see you again at the Hilton Newcastle Gateshead soon

Kind Regards

Andrew .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I came here this weekend as part of a hen do for one of my best friends. We arrived at about 1:15pm to check in, with our treatments at 2pm in the spa we knew we'd have enough time to get there. On check in we were asked to pre-order from their menu which was quick and easy enough, then a few of us went to the spa to get our treatments. We arrived a couple of minutes past 2pm (as the 13 of us were having to pre-order at the restaurant). This is where the hotel let itself down. We had to fill out the form for our treatments, then one by one taken to a room by a member of staff. I was put in a really small room, which felt stuffy. Treatments were meant to last 20 minutes, when they actually took 10/15, with her giving me 5 minutes at the end to get back dressed. The whole thing seemed rushed, although the massage itself was really good. This element let the stay down, and set the mood for the rest of the time in the spa. People were also going through the changing rooms to get to their treatments (which I thought was a little strange) and some of the girls at the spa lacked enthusiasm. Only one of our group out of the 13 said she was chatty and seemed interested in her treatment and what she was doing in Newcastle.

Nonetheless, the rest of the stay was really good. Our meal in the restaurant was really good, and all the food came out quickly. Nice, friendly staff (being a waitress in a hotel myself I know about good customer service) and they were really good.

One member of the staff in particular who was excellent was the doorman at the main entrance of the hotel. Every time we walked by him he smiled and made polite conversation. Me and my friend needed to get to a shop and he gave us clear directions and was just really friendly. I didn't catch his name from his badge, but he deserves a special thank you.

All in all, it was a good stay and I would come back again, just maybe not use the spa facilities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I booked this hotel as was under the impression that the use of the facilities and fabulous service would be well worth the cost, as it was a birthday treat I wanted it to be special. Upon arriving we were assigned a room there was no mention of our request for an upgrade to a river view and after enquiring was told no there isn't your room has already been assigned. The family room whilst spacious lacked some finishing touches, only enough cups, water and pillows for 2 despite there being 3 guests, the beds were like rocks and the room temp seemed to hot or to cold despite the air con but then couldn't get the temperature gauge to move must have been broken. Was slightly frustrated at being left waiting at the reception desk whilst staff walked past when wanting some towels to use for the very small pool,eventually having to stop someone in their tracks to get attention. The room service and the food was a good standard, although the breakfasts decidedly just average, all in all not as impressed and as satisfied as should have been for the price.

Room Tip: If you express an interest in a room upgrade perhaps follow up with a phone call otherwise it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Nicky B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead.

We were obviously disappointed that certain aspects marred your stay with us. Feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. To this end we have shared your comments with our Front of House and Housekeeping teams here at the hotel and offer our sincere apologies for the shortfalls you experienced.

We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us or another Hilton again in the future.

Kind regards
Lindsey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very enjoyable stay. Helpful staff, rooms clean and had everything we needed. Great location. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice. I did think it was a bit pricey for the one night we stayed, but otherwise I couldn't fault anything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew6287, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Hilton Newcastle.
Thank you for your kind words and feedback and I shall look forward to welcoming you back
in the near future!

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My partner and I had pleasant stay at this hotel. Friendly staff, Clean and spacious room, very handy for the city, Car Park charges were reasonable compared to other hotels we have stayed at. Will be visiting again later on this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew6287, Front Office Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here with us at Hilton Newcastle.

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback and I shall very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing